Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families
Friday, May. 01, 2009 @ 5:03 p.m.

This week I found out some new information about M's birth family. Her birth aunt changed some privacy settings on her My Space, and I was able to see her profile again. I learned the middle name of her daughter (she's the same age as M). I discovered that aside from her dad, brother, and sister, she doesn't really know anyone in her family. She listed her deceased mother as her hero. It makes me wish I could be there to give her a family. Actually I think she is very close to her boyfriends family from the pictures she posted of her daughter's 2nd birthday party.

I saw that her boyfriend/father-of-her-daughter and older brother both had profiles. They were both public as well, so I got to learn more about them. The brother (M's birth uncle)had recently moved out of the state (possibly even with his father - not sure about that though). He had a few pictures of himself as well.

I copied everything on to my computer. I keep saving every bit of information that I can for M and keep hoping that some day her birthmother will get back in contact with us or the agency.

Today I went to our agency and dropped off a 6 month update letter for C's birthmother. I arranged to go when our social worker would be there since I hadn't seen her for a couple months. What I found out was quite interesting.

For once I got some information about C's birthmother without even asking. Our case worker said that it had been a while since the birthparent counselor had talked with C's birthmom, J. Then she told me about the last visit with her, figuring that I probably didn't know (Yes, I didn't know - she never tells me anything!!).

I found out that C's birthmother is pregnant again! My 6th month old baby is going to be a big sister! J plans to parent this baby. My case worker said she and her boyfriend are going to work things out. I got the impression that it wasn't a planned pregnancy. J told her case worker that she was feeling guilty (about parenting this one after placing her last baby for adoption). I've read that it's common for women to have another baby after relinquishing one to adoption, but I didn't expect it to happen so soon. Perhaps the pregnancy was planned; I guess I'll never know. Of course, I can't help but imagine her looking to adoption if things go sour with the boyfriend. I really don't expect that though. She knows who the father is and would likely be able to get child support from him. That wasn't the case with C's birthfather - he's a big mystery.

Just this morning I was thinking of asking hubby if he minded if I suggested a park gathering with C's birth mother and siblings. I thought it might be nice for the siblings to meet the sister they only know through pictures. I realized it was too late to ask with this monthly update, but I thought I'd bring it up for the next one. I'm not sure how I feel about that idea now that I know about the pregnancy. I'll have to think on it. Besides, the idea might not even make it past my husband.

I'll go now and dream about being able to adopt C's sibling. It would be wonderful to not have to wait years to adopt again, wondering when or if we would be chosen. I know that it won't happen, but I can still dream, right?

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers