Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Adoption #2 - Home Visit Today
Thursday, Aug. 31, 2006 @ 11:18 p.m.

Please look back at my previous entry for a little reflection on adopting my daughter last summer. How quickly time flies by......

Free Image Hosting at www.ImageShack.us
Here I am with M in front of the sheep at the fairgrounds a couple weeks ago. Baa!

Adoption number two is well on its way. July 19, my daughter's first birthday, we turned in our application form at the agency and got all the paperwork we would need to fill out. A lot of the stuff from the first one can be used, so there is much less paperwork. August 7 my husband and I had doctor appointments for our adoption phyicals. Today we had our home study visit. Now our social worker just has to write up our home study and I have to finish putting together our profile. I have to get a few more pictures taken before I start assembling it. We need one of all three of us together and one of me doing something with our daughter (I'm thinking either reading a book with her or pushing her on her swing.). The text part is already written. I just had to update my last one a little bit.

The social worker says she has had a busy summer, a lot like last summer. There were three babies that went home to adoptive families this month. Now there are only six waiting families, and one of them has been chosen to adopt a baby in Chicago due in a month or two. Usually our office has around twelve waiting families, so more adoptive families are needed. She said that there aren't any birthmothers they are working with who will be choosing a family soon, so there isn't a reason for us to rush. She has another family's home study to write up before ours, so she doesn't expect ours to be done before the end of September. We are in no rush, so that's fine with us.

She did tell us about a situation they had been contacted about in the last week. It involves a baby boy due in October. He may have a higher risk of developing autism because he has two siblings with autism. One is a half sibling with severe autism, and the other is a full sibling with a very mild case. Another full sibling doesn't have autism. It's an interesting situation, and our social worker figured we probably wouldn't consider such a situation so soon. She said another waiting family has been waiting for about a year now, so they would be more likely to be interested. I'm not that eager for a baby so soon, so I'll leave him to a family that needs a baby more urgently than I do.

So that's where we are. I'll be back later if there is anything interesting to report. Otherwise you can be happy to know that I am perfectly happy being a mom, that my daughter is even more amazing than I could have imagined, and that I'm so glad I married my husband. Life is going pretty well. God is good.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers