Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Pre-Surgery Thoughts
Wednesday, Feb. 04, 2004 @ 11:19 p.m.

Today at noon I spoke with a nurse from the hospital about my medical history. She asked me some questions I expected, but also some ones I didn't. Maybe they aren't so unusual, but to me, someone inexperienced with surgery, they seemed odd. She asked about domestic abuse, drug usage, tatoos, and bowel movements.

She said tomorrow they will ask me when my last bowel movement was and when I last had caffeine. They will also give me a blood test and urine test and will do a pregnancy test. She said this is regular procedure for practically every female patient. So I'll be getting a pregnancy test, knowing that I am absolutely NOT pregnant. Oh, here's something weird...yesterday I was spotting, and tonight I discovered EWCM! Maybe I'll ovulate on day 11, just like the cycle I had the HSG.

One good thing is that I get to drink liquids tomorrow morning until 11:30 a.m. If I get heartburn or have acid reflux I would not be able to drink anything after midnight tonight. My breakfast and snack tomorrow will consist of juice.

The nurse told me that my appointment is at 3:30. My paperwork says 3:00, but I didn't ask her which of us was right. She told me to come two hours earlier. Even if I may come at 1:30 instead of 1:00, I still plan to leave school at the time I planned earlier. Arriving a little earlier won't hurt.

I still haven't told my students that I am leaving them tomorrow. We'll see how little I'll end up telling them.

Tonight at church our girls' club had a sledding party. Afterwards I ended up telling a fellow counselor (wife of the only other infertile couple that I know from church) that I was having infertility related surgery to "check things out". She had been asked to sub for me, and wondered what I was doing. Since I know she is dealing with infertility, I figured I would let her know she's not alone. She didn't ask me much; she just wondered if I had to spend the night in the hospital, and I told her that it was outpatient, but they suggested that I take a day off to rest and recover.

I'm not too worried about the surgery. I'm more concerned about how everything will go for my substitute. I always worry that I will forget to tell her something important.

I really do wonder what the doctor will find. There was a time when I thought the spotting I always experience before my period meant there was a problem. This surgery should tell me if there was a reason for my concern.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers