Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
HSG Results
Tuesday, Jul. 08, 2003 @ 3:02 p.m.

After driving for an hour, I arrived 25 minutes early at the lab for my HSG. Before I left home I took my antibiotic pill and some Advil in case I got cramping. Since I had to wait a while, I did a little reading, and when I got too nervous to read, I prayed that I would be relaxed and that the results would show things as they truly are.

I was called to the back and had a nice time chatting with the nurse. She helped me to get ready for the test. I met the doctor in the room where I was to do the test. He is the other RE at my fertility clinic.

While he was cleaning my cervix he asked me if I had had laser surgery or something. I said that I knew from my gynecologist that I had mucus glands in the wrong part of my cervix. He said that is was like my cervix was inside out. It seemed funny to me that the RE didn't know exactly what it was. Maybe what I have isn't as common as what my doctor once told me. I think he had said that 3% of all women have what I have. There is some long name for it, but I don't remember what it is.

During the test I was able to see the screen that showed the dye moving through my uterus and fallopian tubes. The dye first went through my left tube. After adding more dye, it went through my right tube. The doctor said that for sure my left tube is open, and probably the right one is okay too.

Toward the end of the procedure I started getting painful cramping. When the doctor was done I told the nurse about the pain and started getting tears in my eyes. The nurse said to try breathing slowly through my mouth. I couldn't really do that; I couldn't relax enough to do it. She told me to try laying on my side a few minutes. It did help, and after a few minutes the pain wasn't nearly so bad. There was a dull pain, but not the sharp pain of before.

I got back to my car, feeling pretty well. I even stopped at a craft store on the way home and got some yarn and a pattern so I can knit an afghan for my future neice or nephew. I considered it my reward for enduring the HSG and a way of celebrating that the results were good.

I got home around noon, and since then I have been mainly knitting curled up in a big chair. My Advil has worn off, so I have some cramping. It's weird because it feels like I'm having my period. I also have to wear a pad today because the dye leaks out. The dye is red too! I had expected it to be some other color. The funny thing about this whole thing is that even though it looks and feels like I'm having my period, I'm actually very fertile. In fact, tomorrow will probably be my most fertile day. Hopefully by tomorrow I will be feeling fertile, because today I definitely don't!!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers