Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Childless, Yet Doing Great Things
Sunday, Jun. 22, 2003 @ 1:50 p.m.

It's been a few days since I have written, and I think of it as a good sign. I have managed to keep myself busy enough that I'm not thinking about ttc as often.

Since I don't expect to get pregnant this month I'm kind of looking forward to getting the HSG done in a couple weeks. I figure afterwards we will finally have a good idea of what our problems are and what can be done to increase our chances of having a child.

Of course even though I know the possibility of getting pregnant is small, I still have this little thought in the corner of my mind that maybe God will choose this month to surprize me. I know I shouldn't think that way...but I just can't help it!!

This morning in church I wasn't weepy and sad like last week. I felt normal again. It was wonderful to not have to hold back tears.

I read an article about a couple who passed away a few years ago. They had left all their money to a local Christian school. It was nearly two million dollars! This couple had no children, yet they knew the value of Christian education and wanted to support it and leave a lasting legacy.

The wife and her sister had married brothers. These two couples were the best of friends. Neither couple had any children. One couple lived in a more expensive home, but the other lived in a modest one. When the richer couple passed away in the late 1980's, they left their possessions to the other couple. So, in a sense it was both couples who gave their money to the school.

It really struck me how these women with no children, had for years served the Lord in the work place. It seemed as though they led fulfilled lives.

Although this couple who donated had no children, they became very close to a teacher-neighbor of theirs. She became like a daughter to them and was influential in their decision to give their gift to the school. They made another friend who became like a son to them.

I have thought a lot about this couple the last few days. It helped me to see how God can make great things happen with ordinary people. And you don't need children to do work for His Kingdom.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers