Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Ovulation and Lots of Reading
Tuesday, Mar. 30, 2004 @ 5:29 p.m.

I got clear indications this morning that I have ovulated. I'm so glad this cycle isn't as confusing as the last one. Now it's back to waiting. Success (pregnancy) doesn't seem to likely for me, since I think I was the most fertile cervical mucus on Sunday, our day off from TTC.

Since I last wrote I have read four books of personal stories about adoption. I went to the library on Thursday night by myself and got two books. One was about a couple who adopted from China, and the other was about a boy who was adopted from Russia. By Saturday I had read both books, so I returned to the library that afternoon and got two more books. One told the story of a couple who adopted through domestic closed adoption and from Colombia. The other book told about a domestic open adoption. By Monday I had read those two books, so I stopped at a different library on my way home from school. They didn't have anything there that I wanted to read, so I'll have to go to the downtown library this weekend and find a book. I think I'll get some adoption books to read while I am traveling to and from Rhode Island next week. Then I can also read books about adoption without my brother knowing and without freaking out my husband.

Here I am trying to get pregnant on my own, looking forward to two or three more IUI's, and all I can think about it adoption. Maybe it's some sort of defense mechanism. I'm expecting to not get pregnant, so it's easier to look ahead beyond the disappointment that seems inevitable. After reading those stories about infertility and adoption (all four couples struggled with infertility), I found that many of them were looking into adoption before they completed their TTC journey. So I see that I'm not alone. And another thing I learned: adoption is another difficult and frustrating journey. All I know is that many challenges lie ahead on this journey of mine.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers