Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Home Visit & Info about Potential Birthmother
Monday, Nov. 19, 2007 @ 11:13 p.m.

Today we had our visit with the social worker. I prepared my daughter for the visit by showing her a photo of herself with our social worker when she was a baby. I told her that she could show the social worker her room and bed.

Normally my daughter is quiet when visitors come, but today she was talkative and even invited our social worker to see her room right when she arrived. I was amazed and perplexed by how quickly she became comfortable around our guest.

We filled out a clearance form and chatted. Then our case worker asked if we wanted some info about the woman looking at our profile. She first gave us her name, P...., so we could pray for her. That's what I love about having a Christian social worker. I like it when we are told names too. It really helps make my prayers more personal.

We got basic stats about the woman's height, hair, eyes, race, education, work, medical history etc., and a little about the father. It sounds like they aren't sure if they will even be able to locate the man, so there may not be much information available about him.

The baby is due January 4, and the gender is unknown. I actually kind of like not knowing. It was always my plan to not find out gender when I was pregnant.

The woman asked two additional questions about the two families she chose. One only pertained to the other couple (see paragraph below). The other one was that she wanted to know if the adoptive mother planned to go back to work when her kids were older. Our social worker said that a family really couldn't know how things would be ten years from now. I agreed and said that I really don't know now. I may or I may not. I think it all depends on our financial situation at the time. The woman planning to place her child for adoption would like the adoptive mother to eventually go back to work. Our social worker thought maybe she had been raised in a home where her mother went back to work, and she wanted her child in a similar home.

The other family the mother-to-be chose is a childless couple. Since she wants her child to have other adopted siblings, she wanted to make sure they planned to adopt more. I was told this is the family's plan.

So now that I have all the info I can get for now, it's back to waiting. I really hope that this is the one, but if not, I will continue to trust God to do the right thing for our family.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers