Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Application Form and Telling Others Our News
Sunday, Oct. 03, 2004 @ 3:11 p.m.

We've almost finished filling out the adoption agency's application form. We sat down together yesterday afternoon and worked on it. We had spent the week thinking about what to write and who to list as references. We have a few odds and ends to finish, but we should be able to get it send out within the next couple of days.

My husband told his two brothers about us adopting. I emailed some friends to tell them and ask if they would serve as references. Last night we told our friends who we regularly see on weekends. We also asked one of them to be a reference. This morning at church I told my brother. So far everyone I have told has been very excited for us. It makes me even more excited to hear them reponds to our news like that.

My husband is excited too. He started talking about getting baby furniture, and it made me realize how real this is.
I really am going to be a mother! I've started thinking about all the cute baby things I've always wanted to knit for myself. A few years ago I made some baby hats and a baby sweater. I ended up giving them to my students on the last day of school because I couldn't stand having them in my home anymore.

This morning there was an infant baptism at church. In the old days I would have had a very difficult time. Today things were different for me. Instead of having a pity party for myself, I was able to think about the good things I have to look forward to. I could picture myself up there having my baby baptized. I didn't get upset when the minister talked about the blessings of having children.

This week our plans are to tell the minister that we're adopting, call up one more couple to ask if they will serve as references, and finally, to complete the application form and send it in. I wonder how long it will be after we send in the application form before we hear anything from the agency? I hope it's not too long. I'm ready to get moving!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers