Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Why Does Everyone Say That Adoption Is Exciting?
Wednesday, Apr. 27, 2005 @ 10:38 p.m.

We never did hear anything from our social worker, so there really is nothing new to report.

I'm finding that I'm starting to discover what it's like when you are waiting and there is nothing new. It's hard when people ask about how things are going on the adoption front. The adoptive parents with the daughter in my class touched a bit on this when I had my conference with them. They said that you want people to ask, but you don't.

Monday my father-in-law was elected as an elder in our church for a three year term. My husband commented that since he is an elder, he can be the one to assist the minister when our baby is baptized. I would like to hope that I will have a baby within three years, but the way things are going it seems like motherhood will NEVER happen.

(Can you tell I'm getting a little discouraged here?)

Here's another example of how discouraged I am....Today at my last girls' club meeting we had a tea with some older women that the girls have been writing. One grandmother told me she heard I was adopting and said how exciting it was. I said it is exciting, but not so exciting right now because all I am doing is waiting. She seemed confused, and I could tell that she knew very little about the adopton process. I tried my best to educate her. I presented things to her with accuracy, but with little enthusiasm. I wasn't in the mood to be super-happy and lighthearted about it.

Adoption is not exciting for me right now. No, it is excruciatingly boring.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers