Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
She's Home and One Month Old
Friday, Aug. 19, 2005 @ 9:30 a.m.

My little girl came home yesterday at a little before one in the afternoon. Taking her from the interim family was a bittersweet occasion. I couyld tell that the family had really grown attached to herEventually all her younger kids, the baby, and all the women were crying. It's a good thing the birthmom wasn't there. I think it would have been awkward.

My brother and his wife came over to visit and the baby mostly slept. My sister-in-law held her a while. That afternoon she seemed a bit messed up. She was a bit fussy, didn't sleep, and only drsnk small amounts of formula at aw time.

By the time her daddy returned from getting Taco Bell for dinner, our baby was sound asleep in her car seat. It was nice to have a relaxing meal together.

When Hubby's parents came over the baby fell asleep in grandma's arms and didn't wake up until a few hours later. While the the grandparents were still there my brother returned with soup and fudge that he and his wife had made for us. After the grandparents left my principal/friend arrived to tell me about the school potluck I missed and to give us a freuit salad.

The baby had a couple of feedings before bedtime at 12:30. She slept until Hubby got her up at 4:45. I didn't think she did too badly for her first night in a strange place.

This morning I decided to try my first cloth diaper on her. I fed her, and she's been sleeping on my lap ever since. I think she finds that diaper pretty comfy.

I'm starting to feel like a mom now. The baby and I are having our first computer session together, and I'm learning all about how to type one-handed!

I haven't decided if I'm gpoing to tell you her name yet. I'll think about it a bit more.

My baby is one month old today, but I feel like she is only a couple days old!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers