Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
I Think I'm Falling in Love
Wednesday, Aug. 17, 2005 @ 8:26 a.m.

I think I'm starting to love this little baby of mine. Yesterday we visited her for over 2 and a half hours. We both got to feed her and burp her. We talked to her, held her, and kissed her. She looked at us, ate like a pig, slept for a while, made funny faces, and cried in a gentle voice.

The interim care family has been giving us lots of details about her likes and her basic schedule. Her feet are dry, so they lather her with lotion after a bath. She will take any kind of nipple, and her skin isn't sensitive to their strong laundry detergent. At the hospital they got her started on soy formula, for some reason, and she seems to be doing great with that. She is drinking 6 to 8 ounces at a feeding. They've found that it's best to burp her every two ounces. She often has a bowel movement after a feeding. She likes to pee in the towel after a bath. She is very content and only cries when she is hungry. She likes to have a little tummy time during the day, and she loves to sit in her bouncy seat.

If they give her a midnight feeding, she will sleep up to five and a half hours. The intern at the free clinic told the interim care mom that she shouldn't let so much time go by without feeding her. He thought that she should wake the baby up to feed her. She told the doctor that she would never wake up a baby to feed her. It worked for her seven kids, and none of them have brain damage! Yes, this interim care mom is quite a character!

The baby needs her one month check-up soon and in October she has a follow-up appointment with the cardiologist. At her visit with the cardiologist the doctor was so smitten with her that he gave them a copy of the sonogram of her heart. Her heart seems to be healing up well from that heart murmer.

The sonogram and other doctor information is in a folder that we will get when the baby is placed with us tomorrow. (I found out the baby's last name this way because it was written on a piece of paper with her medicaid number) When the baby was at the cardiologist the interim care mom started writing about memories of the baby's first month with them all over the inside and outside of that file folder. It will be interesting to read it once we get the baby.

You know what my baby girl did yesterday? She went to her first big screen movie! She slept through the first half and was fed and burped the second half! I can't imagine taking my one month old baby to a movie theater! Maybe after I have seven kids I'll feel that confident.

Yesterday night after we saw the baby I washed sheets and got the crib all made. The interim care family says she's happy sleeping in a crib or in her bouncy seat or car seat. We're not sure what we're going to do yet. We'll play it by ear, I guess.

Today's plan is to do what I have always held off doing: I'm going to buy baby clothes and bottles. I also want to pick up or order her baby book. I'm starting to get attached to my little girl, and I am itching to get her girly clothes now. It's hard for me to believe that I'm getting these types of feelings already. I think I'll probably buy mostly girly things, but I won't know until I get to the store.

Sometime tomorrow morning my baby girl will be home! Then I will really feel like a mommy.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers