Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Carpet, Teaching, and Thinking
Thursday, Aug. 26, 2004 @ 8:41 a.m.

A couple days ago my husband asked me if we needed reservations for that adoption meeting. I told him that all we needed to do was mail in that little card, and he said we'd have to do that. I was very happy that he was thinking about adoption and wanted to make sure we were going to the meeting. It let me know that my husband is interested in sharing this journey with me.

Yesterday the carpet in our spare room was installed. It looks really nice, but the room looks so empty now. My husband was saying how it would look like a new room if we got new curtains for it. I was thinking how the room might look once we had baby furniture in it.

I'm not sure when we will get some furniture for that room, but I'm sure we'll know when the time is right. I definitely want to take my time shopping for just the right stuff. I love shopping for furniture with my husband. We have similar tastes, so it really is quite enjoyable.

I've been working at school the last couple of days. I haven't talked to my principal/friend about infertility and adoption yet. I know if we do get on the topic we will talk for hours and not get any work done. I'm curious about how things are going for her and whether she has seen the RE yet, but I won't ask until I can find a good way to fit it into a conversation. Knowing her, she probably won't ask me anything until I bring up the topic. Maybe I can start by telling her I won't be missing any more school for doctor appointments.

I've also been thinking about my pastor's wife. I'm sure that soon she will catch me and ask how things are going with the doctor. I think I'll tell her that we are done with the medical treatments and that we are thinking about adoption. I don't want her to know how serious we are until we tell our families.

Another thing I've been thinking about is how long I'll be teaching. Sometimes I imagine that this could be my last year of teaching. A couple weeks ago we heard about a new art teacher that was hired by the school. I was concerned that this art teacher might take away my art classes (4th-8th grades). My husband said that if they did that to me and treated me so poorly, I should tell them that this is going to be my last year. I wonder if he thinks this could really be my last year.

It ended up that the art teacher is just teaching high school, so I didn't lose my art classes. My husband has always been supportive of me, whether I wanted to work or not, so I shouldn't have been surprised. But the thought of not teaching another year made me realize that with adoption in the future it could actually be true. I believe that it may be possible to get our home study and be approved to adopt by January or February. That should be before contracts, so I'll be able to decide if I want to teach another year or not.

I should say that my dream has always been to do some volunteer teaching after I become a mother. I'd like to come to school once a month to teach art lessons. When I called my principal/friend to ask about the new art teacher, she said that she still hoped that I would do those art classes after I quit teaching. I told her that I still think about that and would still like to do it. Maybe that would have been a good opportunity to tell her where things stood, but I decided not to tell her anything.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers