Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Life Continues
Sunday, Aug. 22, 2004 @ 3:28 p.m.

When my hubby got home the day the adoption information packet came, he found it and said he would read it later that night. I was impressed because after he read the paper, when we had finished dinner, he read most of the information in the packet. By the time the evening was done, he had read it all.

He made a comment about the $10,000 dollar tax credit, which I didn't think he knew about before (I do think I told him about it once). Thankfully the adoption fees didn't seem to concern him.

He first thought that the adoption information meeting was this month, and he was trying to figure out how soon that was, then he realized that it is over a month away, in September and seemed a little relieved. I didn't ask, but I'm pretty sure he'll agree to reserve a place for us at the meeting.

Life is continuing on as normal. We had a Bible study potluck on Friday and three pregnant women were there. There once was a small discussion about pregnancy, but thankfully it didn't last long. I really wasn't too bothered by the pregnant women, and I had a nice time holding my 6 month old niece. It was a good thing. One of those women is at the hospital today having her baby. I hope it goes okay.

Last night we went out for dinner with friends. Another of our friends just had a baby and had wanted our group to come over that night to see the new baby. Other plans had already been made, so we ended up not seeing them. My friend who we were eating with thought it was a good thing because she knew it wouldn't have been fun for me.

This couple with a new baby now have a "perfect" family: two boys and two girls. Whenever they want to get pregnant, it happens right away. If they want a girl, they get a girl. If they want a boy, they get a boy. It's hard for my friend and I, since getting pregnant is difficult for us. We have never cared if we had a girl or boy or when he/she would be born, we've just wanted children sometime.

Wednesday the carpet layers are coming to install the carpet in our spare bedroom. At church today my brother asked me what my plans were for the room. I told him it would eventually be a baby's room, so for now it will be empty. I eager to have our adoption plans to the point where we can tell our family. I'm sure my brother would be interested in knowing about when he might be an uncle. My brother was with his girlfriend this morning. They will probably get married within the next couple of years. I think this girl will make a nice aunt for my children:)

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers