Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
The Agency's Information Packet
Thursday, Aug. 19, 2004 @ 3:09 p.m.

I was sure the packet from the adoption agency would come today since it hadn't come yesterday. When the mailman came by I looked out the window and saw him put a large envelope in our box. I went out there, and sure enough, it was from the agency.

I opened it up right away and read through all the contents. There was a letter telling us that all potential adoptive parent are required to go to the information meeting. The next one is in September. There was a postcard to mail and reserve our spot at the domestic adoption meeting.

There were several pamphlets and papers with information. Most of the information given in the packet I have already learned, but I feel they will be very helpful to my husband who has done no research on adoption and only knows what I have told him.

The thing that was most useful to me was the estimate of adoption fees. There are three different fees required before you adopt, with the rest of it being paid at the actual adoption. The three pre-adoption fees totaled about $3,200. The total adoption fees range from 11,200 to $19,000 depending on your income. Those costs were about what I expected, and I think it is somthing that my husband and I can handle, especially if we are able to qualify for the $10,000 adoption tax credit.

It will be interesting to see how my husband reponds to this packet of information. I'm hoping that he'll at least read some of it and be content with the agency's fees. I'm sure he'll be willing to go to the information meeting. The meeting is free, so we will have nothing to lose.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers