Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Update and Health Insurance
Thursday, Feb. 10, 2005 @ 10:41 p.m.

Tuesday our social worker called and left a message. She said she got our check and that I wrote it out for $100 less than needed. That really was my fault because I wrote out the amount from memory and didn't double check it. The social worker said we could pay it now or wait until our final payment, it doesn't matter which

She also apologized for the errors in our home study and would send us corrections of the two pages with the mistakes. We got the corrections in the mail today, along with something we have to sign for our foster care license. I'm assuming then that we are done with all the foster care stuff, and we don't need to fill out any paperwork for our first aid and CPR class.

Another bit of information from our case worker is that the birthmother couselor is working with two potential birthmothers right now. One is due in April and the other is the one due this summer. It's good that there are some potential babies out there. Maybe one of them could be the one for us.

No one really said anything to me this week at school about my adoption plans. It's nice to be normal again. Whenever I run into my adopted student's mom, it's a different story. She usually has some new tidbit of information to tell me about her kid's adoptions. Today it was about their names before and after adoption and about the foster parents that cared for their two eldest before placement. I think she enjoys sharing with me, and I appreciate that she does. Not many people are able to tell me this kind of stuff. I consider it the equivalent of pregnant women sharing their pregnancy woes and birthstories.

My husband came home relieved today. Currently I have my health insurance through my employer. I will lose this when I stop teaching and adopt a child. My husband has been worried that his uncle and employer wouldn't like the increased insurance payments and wouldn't be willing to pay for them. Today my husband's dad brought up to his brother that when we get a baby, the baby and I will need to go on their business's insurance. This uncle of my husband, however, realizes the importance of health insurance and is willing to pay for my baby and myself. I wasn't worried about this, but it's been something my husband has been concerned about for a long time. I'm glad he can relax now. He's worried about this since we got married over five years ago!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers