Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Not Much To Say
Thursday, Feb. 17, 2005 @ 10:24 p.m.

Not too much has happened since my last entry. We received corrected pages of the home study from our social worker as well as some foster care papers that we had to sign. A couple people have talked to me about my adoption plans in the last week, but otherwise life is going on as usual. I spend some of my spare time thinking about baby things. I think I may make my first baby purchase soon and buy a stroller. The problem with starting to buy these things is that it will ruin my latest hobby: researching baby items! Besides, I wonder how long these items will sit in my home unused. It's so hard to have no timeline.

A 3rd grade girl in my girls' club at church made a comment yesterday that really upset me. I was doing a Bible study with my six girls and we started talking about how kids sometimes like to act like the teacher when they shouldn't. One girl talked about how last year in school her teacher told this other girl (now a 4th grader) not to be the teacher. This 4th grader just happens to be in my class at school right now. I said that the 4th grader doesn't act like the teacher in my class. I have other, older kids that act like the teacher. The 4th grader is one of the younger ones in my class. The 3rd grader then went on to say, "Well, she's the oldest one in her family....and besides, she's adopted." I was so upset by this comment. I immediately stated, "That has nothing to do with it." I looked at another girl who is friends with the 4th grader, and she seemed to nod in agreement. The girls were silent, and the lesson went on with no further discussion of why kids act like the teacher.

I know that kids will think of any reason why a kid acts a certain way, but I it's hard for me to hear it blamed on being adopted.

Good news! Today when I got home there was a message from our social worker. She said that they had a staff meeting today and she found out that the birthmother counselor is now meeting with four women, due in April, May, June, and August. Things are getting busier right now, so our profile could be shown relatively soon.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers