Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Two Interesting Things
Friday, Feb. 18, 2005 @ 5:48 p.m.

My principal told me two interesting things today. One was about the couple we know that went to the first adoption meeting with us. The husband's sister goes to my principal's church. Anyway, this couple has been chosen and is adopting a baby. Apparently the extended family was surprised because the baby is a different race than they are. The family didn't realize that the couple was willing to adopt a baby of a different race. They are especially concerned because one family member (described as the "jerk" that left his wife and children) is considered a racist. My friend didn't know much about the situation, but she had heard that the birthmother is only fourteen.

My principal said she almost started feeling sorry for me when she discovered that the other couple is going to adopt before me. When she realized that this baby is a different race than what my husband and I would like to adopt, she was glad. She knew that this baby was not the one for me. There is now one less waiting family for birthmothers to choose from. I wonder if this baby is one of the March or April babies I've heard about.

It's kind of hard to see someone adopting before us who started the process when we did, but I am the first to realize that people who are open to adopt any race are more likely to be matched sooner. My husband and I know our wait could be longer because we have limited ourself at this point to adopting only children of our race.

The other interesting thing my pricipal told me was something that happened at the board meeting last night. She said that they will be offering me a contract for next year, and they were discussing when and how things would work with me adopting. One man didn't know what they were talking about. You know who he was? The father of my adopted student. Every one else knew, except him. Someone else had to tell him that I'm adopting and have even seen the video with him and his son's birthmother (his wife told people about the birthmother, not me). It's quite strange that he didn't know. His wife has talked to many people about this, telling them about the video, even showing the video to his daughter. Wouldn't she tell him something like this? The only reason I can thing of why he didn't know is that he's been really stressed lately with his mom having surgery and dealing with a difficult boss that resulted in losing his job on Tuesday. Did his wife think it was best not to tell him, or did he forget? All I can say is, "Interesting..... very interesting."

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers