Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Stroller Shopping, Babies, and Snakes
Tuesday, Feb. 22, 2005 @ 5:51 p.m.

I've started buying baby stuff! I can't believe I'm actually getting ready for a baby!

A week and a half ago I bought some pastel plaid fleece to use for making a tube sling. I don't know when I'll actually get around to sewing it. I have a couple other sewing projects I want to do first. When I found that fleece, it just seemed perfect. I couldn't leave it at the store to buy later because there was only two yards left.

Saturday I purchased a lightweight Maclaren Quest stroller. Wednesday and Friday I looked at the store in my area that carries Maclarens, and I decided which model I liked the best. I bought the 2004 model online for a great price. Stores are making room for the 2005 models so good sales are to be found. The stroller is being shipped to my mother-in-law since she is home all the time, and I want to make sure someone is home if a signature is needed.

Yesterday I purchased 36 el-cheapo washclothes because I had heard they were great for infant diapers and for baby wipes. They were on sale, so I couldn't resist.

This weekend I may purchase an infant car seat. A lot of baby stores are ending their sales at the end of this week, so I want to be sure and get a good deal while I can.

My hubby and I looked at baby furniture again on Friday, and I think we have picked out the crib we want. Neither of us was too eager to order anything right away, so for now the crib will wait a while.

Last night was a waiting families meeting at our agency. The topic was scrapbooking. My husband and I have been pretty busy with work stuff lately, so we decided to skip it and stay home. I spent the evening sewing for a school project.

Did I write about how my student thought babies and snakes are similar? I'm not sure, so I'm going to read my last entry a minute and see.

Okay, I checked and discovered that I must have forgotten to write about this. Last week my pastor's wife told me how her daughter (a 4th grader in my class) had asked her mom if she thought I was going to bring my baby to school every day. Her mom responded by asking her if she thought having a baby in her room might be distracting. Her daughter said that her sister's class has a snake, and it doesn't distract them. Then her mother said that it just wouldn't work because a baby is a lot noisier and needs more attention than a snake. So, now you know.... ten year olds think a baby is a pet!!

What makes me laugh right now at school is that the kids brought a book for me to read to them. It's called Baby Island and it's about these two girls (age 10 and 12) who are shipwrecked with four babies. I could picture some of my students loving it if something like that happened to them!! Like the kids in the story, it would be a wonderful "game" of "house."

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers