Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Losing My Father
Saturday, Mar. 05, 2005 @ 11:41 a.m.

My dad passed away a week ago on Saturday. We had been in the hospital a week and a half because of illness. He had shown some improvement and was about to have surgery, when his heart slowed and he stopped breathing. He was placed on a respirator, and his mental condition was uncertain. All the children were called home to Washington.

Two days later test revealed that he had no brain activity. We chose to removed the repirator and to make him as comfortable as possible. Less than nine hours later, he died. The funeral was Wednesday, with a memorial service and burial on Thursday. My husband and I flew returned home late last night.

My stroller arrived while we were gone, so last night I removed it from the box and tried all the functions. I think it's pretty cool. Before all this stuff with my dad, I had planned to purchase a car seat by the end of February. Since I was away from home grieving and planning a funeral, that didn't happen.

Before we left to go to Seattle we mailed off an emergency evacuation plan and proof of our CPR class as requested by our social worker. I called her and left a message about how to contact us while we were away. We didn't hear from her during the time we were gone.

I dread having to update our profile now that my dad is gone. I think I'll hold off doing anything to it for a while.

The relatives who came for the funeral said very nice words to me about adopting. They were eager to hear about our new baby and hoped it would happen soon. The good thing about funerals is that it brings families together.

One sadness for me is that my dad never got to live his life as a grandfather. I do have comfort in knowing that he is in a much better place. He no longer has his old and sick body. He is perfectly happy rejoicing and praising God in heaven.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers