Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Our Profile is Being Shown Today!
Monday, Jan. 10, 2005 @ 4:54 p.m.

Thursday afternoon I dropped off our profile at the agency. That night my husband and I filled out some paperwork for our foster care license. I dropped off that paperwork today and picked up some other paperwork we need. We realized that since my husband's brother is an adult and lives at home yet, we need to have a clearance check for him if our child is in the care of my husband's parents.

Today at noon I got a call from our case worker. She said she got our profile. I told her that I had found a typing error, (actually a friend did who read the profile on Saturday) and she said she would cross out the extra "and" for me. She asked if we wanted our profile to be shown to the birthmother she had told us about, but with a note explaining that we wanted less visits than the birthmother desires. This birthmother is looking at profiles TODAY! The case worker gave me lots of basic information about the birthparents (age, appearance, interests, religion, the children they have already, the birthmother's health during pregnancy) and even told me the gender of the baby. The mother is due to have a C-section on February 21, if I remember right. She said that this birthmother wants to choose a couple that has no biological children, and our agency has several other waiting families right now that have biological children.

I said that my husband and I had agreed not to have our profile shown to this birthmother, so I'd have to talk to my husband first. I called him up right away, and we both were a little hesitant, but we felt that if we had a note on the profile, the birthmother could either decide to work with us, or if visits were important to her, she could pass us by.

This is all rather fast than I had expected. If this birthmother does decide to have us parent, our lives will be turned upside-down in a hurry. I don't know if I'm quite ready for all of this. It's so scary. I will feel much more comfortable if the birthmother doesn't choose us, but I will be elated if she does. I'm just going to have to try to leave this all in the Lord's hands and trust that everything will work out in his plan for us.

Our case worker said that it may take a few days for the birthmother do decide, but that she will get back to us as soon as she can.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers