Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Baby Stuff and Waiting for the Home Study
Tuesday, Jan. 18, 2005 @ 3:58 p.m.

Friday my husband and I went baby gift shopping and decided to take a visit to the baby store to get an idea about how much cribs and travel systems and such cost. It was very surreal for me. I almost felt like I didn't quite belong. I think it will be more real when we actually buy baby stuff and bring it home.

Saturday we went to another store with a baby department and looked around there too just to see what there was. While we were going home I asked my husband if I had ever told him that I wanted to use cloth diapers. He said that I hadn't. I told him how I felt about it and what I was thinking of doing. I said that it is cheaper than disposables and that I've always been interested in it especially since I have skin and rash problems myself. My husband was very supportive and is more enthusiastic than I expected. He even told his mother about my cloth diapering plans on Monday when he had lunch at his parents' house. He said that his mom likes cloth better since it is better for the baby's skin. I'm glad that she's on my side, then I won't feel bad asking her to babysit my cloth-diapered baby.

I've been doing more research lately about cloth diapers and I'm making a list of what I'd like to order and what I want to sew. It's hard when you have no idea what size your baby will be. I think I'll get some newborn items and some infant, then I'll be prepared for any size baby.

I finally got a hold of our social worker today at noon. She wasn't working Friday or Monday (I tried calling her both days.). She said that she had the reference remailed to our minister and if it isn't back in a couple days she will just call him so she can get the homestudy finished before her supervisor leaves at the end of the week. She asked me a couple questions she had, which weren't too difficult. She said that there aren't any birthmothers expected to look at profiles in the next couple of weeks, but even if there are, our profile can be shown. She asked if we want to know when our profile is being shown, and I said that at this point we would like to know. She was encouraging and said that we will be able to get the right match for us, so not to be disappointed about the birthmother not choosing us.

For now, all we have to do is wait for the home study to arrive in the mail so we can read it and sign more paperwork. After that is the CPR and first aid class, and then.....we wait.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers