Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Two Potential Situations
Wednesday, Jul. 13, 2005 @ 3:57 p.m.

Our social worker called today, and she had lots of information to share. Things are pretty busy at the agency right now.

Two babies have been born that are awaiting adoptive parents. The birthmothers wanted the agency to select the birthparents, so they will choose from families who have been waiting the longest. Our social worker said that that wouldn't be us.

I was told about a baby that is due July 23, in ten days! The birthmother is looking at profiles next week. Everything matches what we are looking for. The only questionable thing is that there is some drug use. I don't think it's a problem, but I'll do a little research just in case. Since they have only met with this birthmother three times, this baby will go to interim care first. The birthmother likes drawing, and wants her child to be exposed to sports, art, and music, because she wasn't able to have that herself. Our social worker said that she thought of me (I like art). Something interesting about this baby is that it is due on my husband's birthday and our wedding anniversary.

The agency is also still working with the birthmother due in mid-August. Apparently she did choose a family from the profiles she was shown. She's meeting with the family, but the social worker is unsure whether the situation is the right one for the family that was chosen. The birthmother was interested in us too!! It's possible we may still get a call about this situation! The hard part is that I know very little about the situation, so I can't be sure it will work for us either. I did find out the gender of the baby though.

There are also two babies due this fall, so I'm being hopeful that we will be parents before Christmas.

I told our social worker that we have a trip set aside for the first week of August, but that nothing is finalized. She said that things may change so we may end up not even taking that trip. It's strange to think that, isn't it?

I'm so glad we got this call today. I was just sitting there, knitting my second baby sweater thinking about how I really don't want to teach anymore, but that I have to. My only way out is if I get a baby. Everytime the phone rings during the day, I hope it's our social worker. Today it finally was her!

Oh, and one more thing. Of the two potential situations, one is a girl and one is a boy. But I won't tell you which is which...not yet at least!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers