Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Back From the Wedding & Is God Throwing Us a Surprise?
Thursday, Jul. 28, 2005 @ 7:30 p.m.

I'm back from my brother's wedding. Here's a lovely picture of my husband and I in my sister-in-law's parents' orchard. Take a close look. I've never posted Hubby's photo before. It may not be up here long.

My husband and I had a nice time with my family. It was nice not to have any kids or babies around to distract me. The bride has a brother who is married, but he has no children. There were also no children in the wedding party.

When we didn't hear anything from our social worker by early this week, we figured that all the potential situations had been resolved and that they didn't include us. On our 6th anniversary, Saturday, I thought about that pregnant woman who would be looking at our profile and wondered if she had given birth yet. My husband's cousin's wife was about to give birth last week and had a few uneventful trips to the hospital. She finally had her baby this week. She was in the room with a pregnant girl about the same age as our potential birthmother. Wouldn't that be weird if our relative shared a room with our baby's birthmother?

A couple days ago another of my husband's cousins announced her pregnancy (due in February). She didn't want to ruin things for her brother and his wife who were about to have their baby, so she waited to publicize it until she was born.

I still haven't heard a pregnancy announcement from my sister-in-law. I'm not as concerned about it as before. It's been a while now, and I'm sure she really wants to be pregnant again. I wouldn't want to deny her of that joy. It's been long enough now that I feel like I have a good chance of having my first baby before she has her third. Yes, all I care about right now is being first...how ugly is that?

I had lunch today with my principal/friend. Her baby is due in January, and she plans to teach until January. We had a good time together. I really hope I have a baby by the time she leaves school. I would really miss working without her around.

When I got home there was a message from our social worker. She said that the last birthmother we spoke about decided to parent, so she never looked at our profile. The good news is that there was a baby born on Saturday (I believe that's the day she said), and that our profile will be shown to the birthmother on this Saturday. She said she doesn't have much information, but she will get more, and will talk to me tomorrow. I was planning on calling her tomorrow anyway because Monday we leave for our 8 or 9 day trip to New, York, New Hampshire, Vermont, and Maine.

The weird thing about this baby is that it was born on the same day that the other baby was due. Also, if you remember, that day is also my husband's birthday and our anniversary. It would be really neat to have a baby born on such a significant day for our family.

Just yesterday I emailed my friends this:
"It doesn't look like we'll become parents this summer...maybe the fall. Of course you never know what surprises God will throw your way."

Is God throwing us a surprise? Let's wait and see!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers