Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Where's My Insurance Contract?
Friday, Jul. 18, 2003 @ 2:19 p.m.

I've finally felt the urge to write. I have been trying not to think as much about trying to have a baby. Of course it's not really working, but I try not to think about it by not updating my fertility charts or writing in my pre-conception journal.

This past week I found out that several more people that I know are pregnant. Now there are six women from my church who are pregnant. I'm trying to get accustomed to the fact that I probably won't be among this latest pack of pregnant woment.

After reading some more from my infertility books from the library, I decided to look into my health insurance. I called the secretary at the school I work at to see if she had a copy of the health insurance contract. All she had was a summary of the benefits. That's what I have too. She said to try calling the school board treasurer.

The books that I read made it clear that the summary promises nothing, that you really should get a copy of the actual contract signed by your employer.

I then called the school's insurance consultant. He said that he didn't think the contract said anything about infertility, but that the best person to talk to would be the claims person at the insurance company. He gave me her number. He also told me that he couldn't give me a copy of the contract (he called it the "book" - it must be big!!) because he no longer represented the school. It had been given over to a parent at my school who is a business man. I was given his work number.

Next I called this business man and found out that he no longer worked there. I tried calling his home, rather reluctantly because I didn't want to talk to his extremely talkative wife. No one was home.

Right now I have decided to wait for a while before pursuing this further. I might wait until after our next appointment with the RE. The school board treasurer is on vacation, and I think I want to talk to him first since I know him a little better. He goes to my church.

My insurance summary sheet says that certain things are covered if they are considered "medically necessary". So far they have been covering my expenses, at least 70%. What I wonder is whether after the tests are done if they will cover any infertility treatments. We probably will go ahead and have treatments whether my insurance covers or not, but I guess I'm just curious. I also want to be in the know about such things.

I've gotten to the point in my cycle where I'm expecting to start spotting any minute. I keep checking everytime I go to the bathroom. So far my CM seems slightly tinted, but not enought for me to be sure that it means anything. Right now Tuesday is the expected day for my period to arrive. I just hope that it doesn't start on Wednesday. I don't want heavy flow on the day I'm flying across the country. That does not seem like fun!!!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers