Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
RE Consultation - Try IUI
Monday, Jul. 21, 2003 @ 2:15 p.m.

Our appointment with the RE went so well. I don't know why I was so worried.

While we were waiting to see the doctor I was praying and telling myself not to cry while we were there. I didn't want that to happen again.

We sat down in the doctor's office. His bulletin board was covered with pictures of babies he had helped to be born. There were baby announcements and thank you cards on his desk.

When he came in we chatted about our vacations. He had just returned from a trip to Italy with his family. He said they had been planning it for seven years.

He talked a little about my HSG. He agreed with the other doctor that my right tube is probably okay. Either the left tube is more open or there was a kink in the tube that day.

Anyway, his suggestion for us was to try a few inseminations with superovulation. I'll be taking Clomid at the beginning of my cycle to cause me to develop 2 or 3 eggs. On day 12 of my cycle I'll go in for an ultrasound to see how many follicles are developing. Then I'll get a shot to release the eggs. My husband's sperm will be washed and inserted with a catheter into my uterus. I'll have an IUI (intrauterine insemination).

So, the theory is that there will be more eggs that more sperm will be able to reach. The doctor said that this works for over 50% of his patients. We'll try this for a few cycles. If it doesn't work we'll have to talk about trying something else. I was very happy that he didn't go into details about that yet. I was worried that he wouldn't want us to try the IUI first.

The doctor wrote out a prescription for the Clomid. He said that since I am doing the Lord's work as a Christian school teacher that he would give us a 50% discount for our consultation with him. Apparently he does this for ministers and Christian school teachers. My husband and I weren't expecting that. It was a nice surprise.

We met with a RN (I think) who we hadn't met before. She wrote out the prescription for the shot I would need, and said to take that along when I had my ultrasound.

Since my husband and I will be on vacation for the first half of my next cycle (which should start tomorrow), we won't do the IUI cycle until the following cycle. That one should start around August 17. I'd have my ultrasound around August 28, with the IUI a couple days later (I think).

My husband was kind of glad that we wouldn't be able to do it our next cycle because he doesn't want a baby born in May. I better not tell him that if we get pregnant during the first planned IUI cycle that my due date would be around May 23:) Actually, I don't think he would mind as much having a baby due at the end of May.

As a teacher a May baby wouldn't be too bad either. I would only miss a few weeks of school. It isn't a real busy time of teaching, so it wouldn't be too hard to get a substitute.

I know that this may not even work the first try, but I can't help but get my hopes up. It will be our best chance to get pregnant yet. I'm so glad that I prayed before I went in to see the doctor. God was listening and he answered me.

Yesterday evening our minister spoke on prayer. (Did you know that Martin Luther prayed for over two hours each morning?) He spoke about how important it is to pray for others rather than just for ourselves. It inspired me to change my joybook into a book of prayer requests and praises. I made a list of people to pray for each day and what to pray for them this morning. The minister suggested doing that. It's easy to tell people you'll pray for them, and when you pray it's easy to forget about it.

I'm feeling so relaxed and happy now. I'm glad we got to see the doctor before our vacation. Two more days and we'll be flying out of here!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers