Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Screening Ultrasound - Let the Shots Begin!
Tuesday, Jun. 01, 2004 @ 5:30 p.m.

My period came on Saturday, earlier than expected. I was a little worried since that meant I would make it to the doctor's office on cycle day 4, rather than 1-3. It didn't seem to be a big deal.

The resident, who has never done anything for me before, only just watched, performed my ultrasound. She took a little longer than the doctor or RN do. No cysts were found, so I was given approval to continue with the cycle.

I'll start the FSH (Gonal-F) injections tonight (between 6 and 8) and will take one ampule each night until told to stop. I have to return in four days for an ultrasound and a blood test to check my estradol (E2) levels.

The resident kept thinking today was Monday, so she said I would have to go in on Friday for an ultrasound. When I realized that she had the days mixed-up, I discovered that I would need to have the ultrasound on Saturday at the other office. I'm glad it won't be a work day; I hate having to miss school. Of course I'll have to drive an hour each way to get the ultrasound done, but I really won't mind the drive. I scheduled it for 8:30 in the morning, so I can have an early start to my day.

I am a little worried about how this cycle will end up. It's possible that I could only take the Gonal F for five days. That would mean that the IUI would be on Tuesday. This is how I can imagine it happening. I take my last dose of Gonal F on Saturday. The Ovidrel shot is on Sunday. Then I wait a day and have the IUI on Tuesday. I am almost sure now that I'll have to miss school for another ultrasound at least, and possibly for the IUI. Oh, I hope I take the Gonal F for at least 6 days, then the IUI will likely be after school gets out for the summer.

Things seemed to go well this morning with my late arrival at school. The kids didn't seem to think it was too weird, and they didn't ask any questions. If I have another ultrasound on Monday, I may have to miss our graduation practice, which will be an easy thing to skip. I can also easily do an ultrasound on Tuesday. One on Wednesday would be difficult with the local dr. office being closed. It would be my last day of school, and I really couldn't miss it by being gone for at least an hour and a half. That would not work at all.

I really shouldn't get so worried about all this scheduling. I know it will work out in the end. I was planning to take some students out for ice cream this Thursday and next Monday after school. Also, I promised to go to a piano recital next Tuesday. Will I be able to continue on with my regular activities? I hope so.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers