Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Cycle Day 8 Ultrasound
Monday, Jun. 07, 2004 @ 10:21 p.m.

Saturday morning I drove to the RE's office for the blood test and ultrasound. I wasn't paying attention, so I missed the exit didn't realize it until I was ten miles farther down the road. I'm always so nervous about getting lost. I didn't get lost, but I was worried about being late. Thankfully I was only five minutes late, and they weren't too bothered by it. When I checked in I was taken to the back right away for a blood draw. The woman there said I could have been 20 minutes late and they would still fit me in.

After the blood was drawn and my arm had been poked twice (my arm with the "good" veins wasn't cooperating), I was taken to the ultrasound room. The nurse pointed the screen my way, so I got to watch her measure the follicles and the lining of my uterus. Unlike the RN who normally does my ultrasounds at the other office, this one was really good about explaining things. She measured my lining, and it was over 11 mm. She said that they like to have it between 8 and 10 mm when the eggs are released, so I was doing great in that area. There was one dominant follicle on the right side. Yes, my right side continues to be the dominant side. It measured 12 x 14 mm. There were others on the right that measured 9 and 8 mm. I believe the largest on the left side measured 7 mm.

I was told that everything looked as it should, and that I should continue to take the Gonal F each night. My next ultrasound is scheduled for tomorrow (Tuesday) morning. I planned it as early as possible again, so I can miss the least amount of school. It may take a little longer this time than before because I have to get my blood test at the lab across the street. I'm planning to take along my Ovidrel to the doctor's and hide it in a bag in the refrigerator at school if I don't need to take it when I'm at the doctor's. It looks to me like the insemination will be sometime between Wednesday and Friday. My guess is Thursday. I'll have a better idea tomorrow.

My husband heard when I had my surgery last February that they may be able to do the IUI at the office near us rather than the one an hour away. He keeps asking me if they hired a new person and will be able to do that. I keep forgetting to ask. I think my husband has some hope that this cycle may work. The other day he asked me when the baby would be due if I became pregnant this month. March was what he thought. I told him I thought so too. Afterwards I looked it up on my Ovusoft Fertility Software. I discovered that my due date if I ovulate on Thursday would be March 2.

I'm eager to go ahead with this cycle, but it's hard to feel like it could work. Everything we've tried has failed. Will anything ever work? I had a dream a couple nights ago that my husband was telling people that I was pregnant. I didn't believe him when he said it, because I didn't think it could be true. If I ever do find out I'm pregnant, I'll either be in denial or be super-worried about having a miscarriage. I hope I never have a miscarriage. I don't know how women can bear it when that happens to them.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers