Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
From 2nd Grade to an Unexpected Romance
Sunday, Jun. 08, 2003 @ 11:15 p.m.

I figure the path to meeting my husband started in second grade. That was the year decided that I wanted to be a teacher. It became a main goal in my life. I would do my best in school, go to college, and become an elementary teacher.

During my last semester of college I did my student teaching. I was placed in a small Christian school which had two grades in one classroom. If I hadn't had this experience of teaching in a split-grade classroom, I would have never considered applying for a position that involved teaching three grades in one classroom. However, that small Christian school that I ended up teaching was where God wanted me to go. So even though I knew the job would be difficult, I applied for it.

I was surprised when during my spring break someone on the school board called to request an interview. A few days later I had an interview by telephone. It was strange to be interviewed by people I couldn't see while I was sitting on the couch of my apartment in jeans and a t-shirt.

I must have impressed the interviewers, because the board offered me a teaching contract in late March. This was very early for such an offer; most schools don't offer contracts until April at the earliest. I had a difficult time deciding if I should sign. A few other schools with one grade classes and better salaries had shown interest in me. Should I wait for a better offer, or accept the first one? No one that I confided in was able to answer my questions, not even my mother. With much prayer and trust in God, I decided to sign the contract.

Five months later I moved to my new home, a three day drive from my family. I stayed with the parents of another teacher while I searched for an apartment and acquired furniture.

At the church I began attending I met a girl around my age who said her parents had a love seat and some other household items I could have. I said I could use them, and we made plans to meet at my future apartment. It was a second floor apartment in an old farmhouse in the country.

When I arrived at my apartment a few days later to meet my friend, she was already there with her boyfriend and two trucks. There was another guy who had driven the other truck. I found out that he was the brother of my friend's boyfriend. He had brought a chair from his mom that she thought I could use.

My first impression of this brother was that I thought he looked married. He seemed very friendly, and was interested when I showed my artwork to him. Gradually I came to realize that he wasn't married. He was living at home and he was younger than I had first thought. I didn't realize it then, but I had just met my future husband. Two weeks later I would go on my first date.

When I had just moved to a new area and was about to start my first year of teaching, the last thing on my mind was romance. That was when God chose to bring my husband into my life.

Will it be that way with me getting pregnant? Will it also happen when I least expect it?

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers