Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Doctors and Finances
Friday, Mar. 21, 2003 @ 5:41 p.m.

So far this cycle is progressing normally. I am now on day 7. Next week will be when my fertile time begins. I'm not really expecting a pregnancy to happen this cycle. Nothing has happened so far in all the many months that something could have happened. I'm mostly eager this month for the doctor's appointment. Not that I really expect much. I just hope that he doesn't blow me off like nothing is wrong. If he does I think I will have to find a new doctor, maybe a RE (reproductive endocrinologist).

There is a fertility clinic nearby that friends of mine go to. I even looked at their website once. The only problem about going to the RE is that I'm pretty sure he wouldn't be covered by my insurance. But I'm not too worried about that.

My husband and I both have jobs and we live well under our means so there is enough savings to help with doctor bills. When we bought our house we didn't take my salary into consideration (knowing that I would be a stay-at-home mom, and we thought about future bills we may have to pay (like Christian education). So right now when I am working full time, there is plenty of fun money for us to use or save for a rainy day.

We probably spend a little more on our hobbies and on eating out than we will when we have kids, but we don't spend it on things like expensive vacations or luxury vehicles. Vacations are usually flights across the country to visit my family. Once we buy the plane tickets there aren't many more expenses since my parents take care of "accomodations" and meals while we are there. We also try to buy as many things as we can in cash. Right now the only loans we have are our mortgage and my student loans (which we will pay off in a few more years). We pay off our credit card bills every month. It is so nice to live that way.

I had this credit card from a department store I got once to get a discount. Although I hardly used it they kept increasing my credit limit and even turned it from a store card to one I could use anywhere. I got worried about how high it was getting. I didn't want someone to steal my card and be able to buy that much. I called to get the credit limit reduced. The woman on the phone was surprised that I wanted it reduced. She said she had been getting lots of calls lately to increase credit limits. She also said that I could transfer my other balances over for some great interest rate. I told her that I had no balance to transfer. She said, "That's a nice way to live." "Yes'" I said. What I really was thinking was , "That's the way you SHOULD live."

I think it's a sad world we have that people can't even take care of their finances. They want it all and they want their kids to have it all. They will spare no expenses to spoil their kids, and their children never learn what it means to work and be responsible. Let me tell you...I'm never buying my child a new car. I've seen to many kids total a car their parents gave them, only to receive another one. Let a child earn it himself. Then he will be proud of what he has earned and will be more responsible with his property.

I know got a little off topic today. But I do think that it has to do with raising a family, which I plan to do some day.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers