Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Triplet Update, Baby Names, & Cloth Diapers
Sunday, Mar. 30, 2003 @ 10:50 p.m.

I spent Saturday evening with my friend who is pregnant with triplets. She is now 18 weeks along. She told me that the woman from her church who had lost a triplet had given birth to the other two babies on Thursday. She had to give birth vaginally since she had an infection. The babies only weighed 1 lb., 10 oz.. They were identical twins. One of the babies didn't survive, and the other one is, of course, very delicate.

My friend is doing well. She's feeling very positive, but a little tired of everyone asking how she is dealing with what happened.

On Wednesday she had an ultrasound and found out that her babies are only 1 day behind average in their development. Her son was 2 weeks behind average, so she is very happy with their growth. She knows that things may still go wrong, but she is confident that things will work out as God has planned.

Last night I my husband and I talked a little about baby names. I have been making a list of names and am constantly adding, deleting, and changing them. My husband really likes common and very familiar names. I like familiar names too, but I don't want my child to have to worry about sharing his name with someone else his age at school or church. I am willing to choose a popular and trendy name. After speaking to my husband I realized that I would need to scratch off all of the names that barely made my list because I thought were almost too trendy. My husband would certianly not like them at all!

I did find out that my husband was interested in using our fathers' first names as middle names for our sons. Earlier we had talked about using my husband's middle name as our son's middle name (it is also my father-in-law's middle name and the first name of our nephew). We also like the idea of using my paternal grandfather's name as a first name.

After we started talking about family names, I told him about an idea I had of how to combine my mother's first and middle names into one name (which he seemed to like). I still have to think of a way to include my mother-in-laws names in my list of possible baby names.

After reading Alice's diary, I got interested in cloth diapers. I did some research and told my husband about what I had learned. He seemed a little surprised at first, but when I explained to him my reasoning he seemed to like the idea.

I told him how it required a little more effort with cleaning, but that we wouldn't have to worry about running to the store for diapers. I also went into a rather boring (for him at least) description of the changes in cloth diapers since our little brothers were babies. What was most convincing for him, I think, was that it would save money. After I told him that it would save money, he commented about how his brother has complained about how expensive disposable diapers are. So, for now, I think I have convinced him that cloth is the way to go.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers