Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Relief and a Meeting Next Week
Tuesday, May. 10, 2005 @ 7:56 p.m.

I can breathe a sigh of relief because my sister-in-law didn't make any big announcement on Mother's Day. There was a discussion about a new pregnancy within the church, but that was all.

I dreaded going to that family gathering, but once I was there it was fun, and I even had a nice time playing with my little niece and nephew.

Church in the morning was hard. There was some mention of Mother's Day. During the congregational prayer the minister prayed for pregnant women. Then he went on to pray for couples who haven't been able to have children. He prayed for those who will remain in that situation and for those who will become parents through adoption. That got me a little teary eyed. I was thankful that the minister didn't forget people like myself.

My mother asked me a couple times if my husband had gotten me a Mother's Day hanging flower basket. I'm not quite sure why she asks me this. I told her that my husband took me around the greenhouses to pick one out. He grows them for a living, so we usually have eight of the hanging around our house with a couple extra in case one starts looking bad. It really has nothing to do with Mother's Day; it's just what we do every year. We pick out the ones we want before they are all shipped out to the customers at the garden centers.

Last week a woman from church approached me after school. She said that the church newsletter wanted to write about our adoption in the "Did You Know?" column because we are expecting. It is what my husband calls the "gossip column." Usally the main news in it is the announcement of peoples' pregnancies. I said no to the announcement, but I thanked her for asking me first. The people who know about my adoption plans already know, and those who don't will eventually find out. Who knows how long this adoption will take. If this news is posted people will think it's happinging soon, and I will get more questions that I don't want. I hate being the topic of peoples' conversations.

We got a letter about our next Waiting Families Meeting. It will be next week Monday. They will have the families there that do interim care of the babies. I talked to the mom with the adopted daughter in my class and found out that the family who cared for her daughter and son during interim care are still doing it and will probably be at the meeting. It will be neat to meet them. My husband will probably not be able to make it to the meeting, but I plan to go.

This mom I was just talking about also offered to come to a meeting this summer to talk about her open adoption with her son's birthfamily. She thinks she may even be able to get members of his birthfamily to come too when they visit this July. I'll see what my case worker thinks about the idea.

My principal/friend is in the middle of her second IUI with injectables. I've had to watch her students a couple times while she was gone for appointments.

She still feels like her infertility is not completely diagnosed. She knows that one tube is bad and that her husband's count varies but is not really a problem. She had to take a break during her last cycle because of a cyst. After this cycle she has one more cycle with injectables. She doen't know what she'll do after that.

Right now her thoughts are that she doesn't want to do IVF and she doesn't want to start the adoption process quite yet. I hope she gets pregnant; I don't want her to have to end treatment. I don't want her to face the disappointment I've had.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers