Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Mother's Day Thoughts
Tuesday, May. 13, 2003 @ 7:08 p.m.

I was so thankful on Sunday that our guest minister didn't preach or speak about Mother's Day. I know that that day can be very difficult for infertile wives. Some women stay home to avoid a possible embarrassing or emotional experience at church.

A young man from my church who is studying to be a preacher preached at another church on Sunday. His wife asked me yesterday if our guest minister spoke about Mother's Day because her husband didn't and a woman at that church was very upset with him about it. This couple, who don't have children yet, were a little surprised that someone was upset about this.

Personally I didn't have a problem with Mother's Day not being mentioned at my church. It certianly made the day much easier for me.

I do realize that we all have mothers, but Mother's Day is not a religious holiday so a church shouldn't be expected to observe it in any special ways. We hear enough about Biblical women and mothers throughout the year. I'm not saying that there shouldn't be Mother's Day sermons. I have heard some nice ones in the past, but they were tasteful. The ministers realized that not all women are called to be mothers, just as not all people are called to be married.

On Monday morning one of my students, who is a little scatterbrained, asked me in front of the whole class if I had gotten breakfast in bed Sunday morning. Some other kids asked her why and she said, "because of Mother's Day." I said,"No, I'm not a Mother." Some of the other kids agreed with me, probably adding to that girl's embarrassment.

It made me laugh and made me a little uncomfortable (worried that it would lead to a conversation about if I planned to have kids). It just shows how people can tend to think of Mother's Day as a holiday for all women. I think we should have a Celebrate Women Day instead! Of course my students would love to have a Kid's Day!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers