Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Pre-Cycle Planning
Friday, May. 28, 2004 @ 7:06 p.m.

Lately my life has been filled with end-of-the-school-year activites and figuring out what I need to do for my first cycle of injectable ovulation drugs.

Yesterday I decided it would be wise to call the pharmacy. It was the day the doctor was to make my medication plan and call in the prescriptions to the pharmacy. The nurse told me on Tuesday that I could use a mail-order pharmacy, but then I'd have to order in bulk. I decided to stick with the local pharmacy, the one they suggest. I used this pharmacy to get my fertility drugs/hormones before, so I knew they accepted my insurance. The nurse had also asked on Tuesday if I wanted the smaller needles for the injections. She said that they cost about $40! I said that I had used them before, and the insurance had covered the smaller needle. I was thankful for my insurance's drug coverage when I heard that!

When I called the pharmacy I was told that two prescriptions had been called in for me that day. That was how many I needed for this cycle (an LH drug and a HSG drug) so I was happy and said that I would pick them up the next day. I knew I would be getting the Ovidrel again, but I didn't ask what the other drug would be. I thought I'd leave myself a little to look forward to and find out the next day.

After I made the phone call I started thinking again about how I had to have an ultrasound either next Tuesday or Thursday. I was already on my second day of spotting, so I knew my period was on its way. I realized that I would get my period sometime between Sunday and Tuesday. If I went to the doctor on Tuesday I would be able to have it on what would become either day 1, 2, or 3 of my cycle. Those were the days I was supposed to have the ultrasound. I made the decision to call the doctor on Friday rather than wait the long weekend and try to call and and schedule an appointment on the same day and find someone to watch my class on short noctice. I couldn't imagine how I would manage that!

This morning I called the doctor a couple minutes after 8:00. School starts at 8:05. I hoped I could get through before school began, but I had little hope. The first two times I called, the answering machine was still on. The third time I was placed on hold and had to wait five minutes. Finally I got to talk with someone and was able to explain my situation and schedule an ultrasound for 8:00 a.m. on Tuesday morning. I had someone checking in on my class, and when I got back to my room, it was 8:15 and my students were all sitting quietly in their desks with their hands folded looking like perfect little angels. It was a good start to the school day!

The great thing about having my ultrasound at 8:00 is that I will only be missing the opening activities at school: pledges, devotions, prayer, and singing. My principal/friend said she would tell my class I was going to be late and she would have my class join hers. If all goes well I should only miss the first half hour of school.

After school today I picked up my medication from the pharmacy. Thankfully the insurance covered both prescriptions and I only had to pay the co-pay. The Ovidrel now comes pre-mixed, so that has to stay in the refrigerator. It's now sitting in the "hormone section" of our refrigerator, next to my husband's vials of insulin. The other medication I was prescribed is Gonal-F, which is in powdered form in ampules. I'll have to mix it in solution before I inject it. I'm still not sure which days I'll be using the Gonal-F. My prescription doesn't say. I was prescribed one box of 10 ampules, but I'm sure I won't be needing all of them.

Things seem to be working out well so far. I'm excited and eager to try something new. My main worry right now is that my period is going to come tomorrow. Oh, I hope it can wait until Sunday or Monday. That would really be the best thing!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers