Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Self Study Completed!
Friday, Nov. 05, 2004 @ 3:10 p.m.

Wednesday night was my girls' club meeting at church. The girl who is getting the laparoscopy is also a leader. At the end of the evening when we were talking and cleaning up, she started talking with another leader about her surgery. I heard her mention her doctor, who is the same one as mine. Then I heard her talk about the lady in training that wouldn't answer her and her husband's questions. I knew exactly who she was talking about!

At that point, the person who I was talking to began talking to someone else, so I figured it was my time to flee. That's exactly what I did. I was very uncomfortable with the conversation that was going on across the counter, so I got out of there fast and didn't even say good bye. Maybe it was rude, but I could feel my cheeks burning. I knew it was time to go!

Yesterday there was a call on our answering machine from our adoption case worker. She answered all the questions I had asked her and said she'd look for us at the conference.

I've been working on my self study all week. Yesterday night I finally completed it! My hubby has started his, and told me he'd try to get most of it done this weekend. It's okay with me, because I don't want to print off the final version of my self study until after the conference. I may learn some new things that will be helpful for when we decide what situations we will be open to for adoption.

My husband scheduled his medical exam yesterday. His will be November 23, a day after mine.

I was worried that the adoptive family who has a daughter in my class might be at the adoption conference. I didn't want to run into them. My fears are at rest now because I discovered that my student is going to a doll conference on Saturday with her mom.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers