Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Phone Calls, "Competition", and Hubby & His Mom
Tuesday, Nov. 02, 2004 @ 10:39 p.m.

Yesterday I tried two times to get a hold of our caseworker. The first time she was out, and the second time she had already left for the day. I didn't really want to leave a voice mail message. Even though that didn't work our, I was able to schedule my medical exam. I couldn't get an afternoon appointment (so I can go after school) until November 22. We were told that we don't have to rush with that, so I figured it would work out okay.

After school yesterday, I was talking to my principal/friend and found out that the couple that we talked to at the initial adoption meeting has decided to adopt through the domestic infant adoption program. They go to her church and say they are adopting because of her kidney problems.

Oh no, we have competition!! It will be interesting to see how their journey will compare to ours. Who will be the first to get a baby? Actually, I don't really feel like we are competing. I know that each birthparent is looking for something different, and that God has a special child planned for each of us. They are a really nice couple,and it would be kind of nice if we happen to see them at the conference on Saturday.

Today I tried calling the caseworker again, but she had left to vote. This time I decided to leave a message and have her leave an answer on our answering machine at home. Hopefully I'll hear from her tomorrow.

Yesterday my hubby did some calling and we were able to complete our financial information sheet. This evening and yesterday I started typing up my self study. So far I have anwered questions about myself, my family, and have just started the questions about my marriage and husband. It's taking longer than I thought it would. Maybe I'll get done by the end of the week. I've also started working on averaging grades for my report cards. My brain will be working extra hard this week.

My husband sees his mom every day at lunch time. He thinks his mom is getting a little too excited about us adopting a baby. Yesterday she told her sister about our adoption plans. That's okay with me, I mean my mom told me Sunday that she had recently told her sister. I'm a little worried that even though my hubby's aunt was told not to tell anyone, the news might spread. This aunt goes to church with people that know me, with people that send their kids to my school. I don't know how much longer we can keep our plans a secret.

Today my mother-in-law was telling my husband what furniture they will buy us as a present for our first baby. My husband told her she needed to slow down, because it could be a while before before we have a baby. I thought it was funny that he told her to "slow down." My husband and I never wanted to have the first grandchild because we knew she would be super excited. When the second grandchild came along she didn't seem quite so crazy, even when it turned out to be the first girl in the family. Now that we're planning to adopt, she seems to be acting more like she did with the first grandchild. People are funny sometimes.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers