Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Paperwork, Excited Mother-in-law, and Laparoscopy
Sunday, Oct. 31, 2004 @ 10:47 p.m.

I found out on Friday that my principal/friend's second IUI, didn't work. She's starting her third cycle now. She already is sick of it and ready to try something new. I tried to encourage her to be positive, but it's hard, because I know exactly how she's feeling.

My husband and I worked on some of our paperwork this weekend. Yesterday we filled out most of the Assets and Liabilities worksheet. Yesterday and today we completed our Family Heath Information sheets. This afternoon I typed up our Statement of Faith and my hubby looked it over and said it was okay. Tomorrow my goal is to start writing my Self Study, which is about 8 pages of questions about myself, my family, and my views on parenting. I also plan to call our caseworker and ask her a few questions and tell her that we will be going to the conference.

I discovered today that our Married Couples Bible Study is meeting next Saturday. We are assigned to bring dessert, so since we can't come (due to the conference), we'll just have to drop it off at my brother-in-law's house. Our last meeting was cancelled because only three couple could make it. This time we're the ones who can't come. Maybe this one will be cancelled too.

My husband told his mother about our adoption interview this week and how they told us they are working with 12 birthmothers right due between December and March right now. Things had been getting a little slow. Apparently my mother-in-law got really excited and offered to give us the small child-sized wooden rocking chair she has in the basement.

Today I had my first conversation with my mother-in-law about our adoption plans. She offered me the rocking chair too, and said with a big smile on her face, "This is so exciting!" I asked her if she would be our babysitter while we are foster parents the first couple months of the baby's life. She said she would since she'll be healed from her hip replacement surgery by then (It's two weeks from now). My husband and I are happy that she appears to have accepted the fact that we are going to adopt. The way she was acting today, I almost felt pregnant:)

In our church bulletin today there was an announcement for someone's outpatient laparoscopic surgery this week. You know who it was for? The other infertile woman at my church. I've often wondered if she had started fertility treatments, and now I know. I was too chicken (afraid that I would have to share with others nearby about myself) to come up to her and talk, but I did hear snippets of her conversation with others. It sounded like they were suspecting endometriosis.

I really don't know how she can talk to people about her infertility and not break down crying. I would never have been able to handle a whole Sunday sharing my infertility problems with every woman in church. I guess everyone handles it differently. I don't think I'll feel like sharing my infertility story with the church people until our adoption plans are made public.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers