Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
New Cycle and Church Talk
Sunday, Nov. 09, 2003 @ 11:39 p.m.

I woke up this morning with my period. I hate waking up that way. The only good thing about it is that my ultrasound will most likely be on Thursday (12 days from now) rather than Wednesday.

Why does it matter? Well, if it was on Wednesday I would have to work around the school Thanksgiving program practice. This is a big deal as we have to drive to a church and have the kids practice their parts and singing, when they stand up and sit down, etc. It would not be something I could miss.

That now brings my IUI, if it happens, to a Friday, rather than a Thursday. This is okay too. If it was Thursday it would be the same day as the Thanksgiving program, which is in the evening. It would be weird to have to see my students again after I left them for half of the school day.

Anyway, tomorrow I'll be calling the clinic again and scheduling my mid-cycle ultrasound. Then I'll pick up my Clomid from the pharmacy in the evening.

At church this morning my husband's cousin had her baby baptized. I tried to spend most of my time after church away from my husbands aunt and her family. I didn't want to be stuck in that group of pregant cousins and excited grandmothers like I was once before. Instead, I talked to a woman who has four kids of her own and a three year old foster child. It was interesting to hear of her experiences with her foster child who is, by the way, a real cutie!!

I joined the family group later, since I had heard that a cousin who is getting married this summer wanted to talk to me about wedding dresses. I figured I better make myself available. Unfortunately I still had to hear the tail end of a pregnancy converstion. My husband's pregnant cousin was there. She was talking about her friend who is is due at the same time she is. This friend is having triplets. She already has five kids, including a set of twins. They are all natural too...no fertility, I was told. This friend's husband is going in soon to get things "taken care of". Must be nice.

Then the conversation drifted to a woman in Michigan who is pregnant with sextuplets and whose neighbor down the road is having quadruplets. They were thinking it was neat, I was thinking that her doctor really messed up. I heard on the news that she was taking shots (for ovulating more eggs, I suppose). I wonder how well her doctor monitored her? I hope this lady doesn't go to my RE!!

I told my husband on the way home that I hadn't talked to his family long because I didn't want to be in a conversation that revolved around babies and pregnancies. He seemed to understand. It must be nice to be a guy. You can talk about work and jobs with the other men, not about having babies.

After the evening church service my husband, mother-in-law, and a distant woman relative were talking about someone who had a child that was adopted and now wasn't a believer. She said that it seems that many adopted children that don't turn out well. This woman went on to say that there are adopted children that turn out well, but that it seems easier to raise a child that is your own blood. Of course that wouldn't have held her back from taking home a cute baby.

On the way home my husband remarked that he knew of people who had adopted kids that turned out great. He thinks, and I agree, that if you are a faithful Christian parent who adopts a child in infancy, God will bless your efforts, and your child will, in most cases, turn out well.

Saturday night we went out for dinner (my husband and I) and talked a little about having kids. He said that he knew of people who waited ten years before they had a child of their own. I was thinking then, "Yes, I can wait ten years. We don't have to adopt right away." What was I thinking? I can't wait that long!!!! Maybe a couple more years though. It's so hard to know how long we should wait. I do know that God will help us to know when the time is right.

My husband also gave me some new ideas for baby names he likes. I have to write those down and add them to my baby name list:)

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers