Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Scanning Pictures and Going to the Hospital To Puke Up a Baby
Tuesday, Nov. 16, 2004 @ 6:51 p.m.

Sunday I started scanning photos to put in our profile. I even made a plan about what pictures to put on which pages. In the evening I took a picture of myself getting pizza ready. It's a Sunday night tradition for us, so I thought it would be a nice thing to add. From what I've read, it's better to put in pictures of your everyday life than to have tons of vacation pictures. It gives birthparents an idea of what normal life will be like for a child in your family. My next planned photo taking opportunity will be at Thanksgiving. I'm hoping to get some good pics of my husband's family.

I haven't really decided if I'm going to make the whole thing on the computer or use real photos taped on colored paper with handwritten captions. I'm leaning toward the handmade version as it seems much more personal. I'll definitely be looking at the sample profiles again when I have my interview at the agency on Thursday.

Today we got a contract mailed to us from our adoption agency. It lists all the costs we will be expected to pay and when they will need to be paid. The good thing about this is that they can't change the prices on us. Even if they raise their rates, we are locked in to the present costs no matter how long it takes for us to get a placement.

While I've been working on my adoption stuff, life has been continuing. A few babies of my friends have been born. I've managed to stay away from them. I don't cry about not having a baby like I used to, but I still have a very hard time looking at pregnant women. There are two people that I know who are pregnant right now. That's the fewest there's been in a long time. In February the last baby will be born, and I didn't know yet when there will be another one. Maybe it will be mine. It's okay to hope, right?

My principal/friend had her third IUI last week. I ended up watching her class for 45 minutes while she was gone from school. She was doing that for me a year ago! It's funny how things change. She was pretty disappointed because the count was really low, nearly as bad as my husband's counts. For her previous IUI the count was twenty times better. The good thing in all this is that she and her husband can know for sure now that the male factor really is affecting their fertility.

The girl from church who had the well-publicized laparascopy is moving away in a couple weeks as her husband got a new job. In the bulletin on Sunday she thanked the church for the cards, visits, food, and flowers. I teased my husband that he didn't even get me flowers or a card when I had my surgery. He said he's not good at that kind of stuff. I said it was okay because I'm not a needy kind of person who needs a lot of attention. I'm so glad I didn't have the attention she had. The meal from our close friend was good enough for me.

My mother-in-law had surgery yesterday. My four year old nephew thought that grandma was going to have a baby from her throat. Since his mom and aunt went to the hospital and had babies, he thinks any woman at the hospital goes to have a baby. He also thinks that the baby is "puked out" of the mouth. Oh, the crazy ideas kids have! My sister-in-law decided to let her son continue thinking that the baby comes out of your throat. I think I would have told him differently rather than ignoring his statement. Oh well, she's the mom, not me. When I have my own child I can teach him things my own way.

I'm starting to think of some things I can knit for my baby. Right now I'm thinking booties, a cardigan, and felted diaper bag might be nice. I told my husband I wanted him to buy me some baby yarn for Christmas. I'm still looking for the perfect patterns to use.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers