Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Individual Interview and Home Visit Scheduled
Thursday, Nov. 18, 2004 @ 8:00 p.m.

Yesterday my husband told his uncle and cousins that he works with about our adoption plans. They seemed okay with it it seems as they were telling my husband about other people they know who have adopted. I wonder who they will tell? Will my husband's aunt who goes to our church find out? I shall see. I guess I won't be too upset if the word gets around. I think I'm almost ready to share our adoption plans with our circle of friends, family, and acquaintances.

Today my husband and I had our individual interviews with our case worker. The interviews were actually easier than we thought. I expected to have to expand more on my answers to those hard questions on the self study, but I was wrong. She just asked more about our extended families and what we thought about the adoption conference. I asked to see some of the profiles and she gave me some advice about writing them. She even lent me a copy of the book Reaching Out: The Guide to Writing a Terrific Dear Birthmother Letter by Nelson Handel. I heard it was a good book, so I'm glad to have a copy to read. I'm already nearly half-way through reading it.

The case worker seemed impressed that we had gotten our paperwork done so quickly. She said that we are ahead of the three other couples who attended the information meeting with us. It's funny, because I was so worried about someone else getting ahead of us. I thought for some reason they might get a baby before us because of it. What crazy fears I have!

I told the case worker that our goal was to be done by Christmas. We scheduled a home visit for December 2, two weeks from today. She said that she had sent our our references, and that she may not get our home study written before Christmas. I told her that I didn't mind, I just wanted our part to be done by then.

One of the main reasons we have been so motivated is that my husband gets very busy in late winter and in spring. He wanted to be done with the paperwork before then. Actually that's his motivation; mine is that I want to be a mom and quit my job.

After looking at about six profiles I still am not sure exactly what I want to do for ours. The case worker did say that she would take a look at what I had written on the computer when she comes for the home visit. I think that will be helpful.

Now that my interview is done, I can now concentrate on Thanksgiving. I've volunteered to host the dinner at my house this year since my mother-in-law is recovering from surgery. In fact, she came home from the hospital today. My biggest fear is that the turkey won't get thawed in time. I think it will be okay though:)

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers