Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
IUI Tomorrow and Being Sick
Thursday, Oct. 23, 2003 @ 1:52 p.m.

You may be wondering why I'm writing in here at this time of the day. I should be at school! Well, my cold has gotten worse in the last few days. I couldn't bear being at work any longer, and I got a substitute after lunch and went home.

My ultrasound was this morning. I told my class I was going to the doctor. Of course since I haven't been feeling well, they thought it was because I was sick. I didn't tell them their assumption was wrong. To answer their questions I said, "I hope the doctor can help me."

At the doctor's office I saw the other doctor, not my regular doctor. This doctor was the one that did the HSG and found that I might have the tube blocked. He said that my uterine lining was thick, a good sign that something was happening. He checked the left side first, and measured three follicles of a good size. He didn't measure any on the right side. He said that they were big enough that I ought to take the Ovidrel this morning and have the IUI tomorrow. I was excited, but a little surprised that it was going to happen so soon.

I said I was worried about scheduling, especially since I had to go back to work and wouldn't be able to go to the pharmacy and give myself the shot. The doctor said he might have some in the office. Thankfully, they did, and a nurse gave me the shot.

I scheduled my IUI as late on Friday as I could...3:00 p.m. That way I wouldn't have to miss much school, just an hour. My husband will have to go in at 10:00 to do his part. I didn't think about it when I scheduled, but it's probably a good thing we are doing it later because I thought the IUI would be on Saturday, so we had intercourse last night thinking it would give us 2 � days of abstinance. Now it will be only 1 � days. I hope the count is high enough!

I went back to school and one student asked if the doctor found anything wrong with me. "No," I said, "I have a cold." She thought it was funny that I had gone to the doctor and there wasn't anything he could do. If she only knew...

As the day progressed I began to feel worse and worse. My nose was stuffed-up, hurting and dripping. I couldn't smell anymore, so food tasted bland. My head really began to hurting.

At lunch I decided to see if I could leave school early. I had recess duty, and afterwards I called my husband to tell him what was going on. He said his appointment time was okay. I also told the principal what was going on (with my sickness and docor's appointments) and asked if she could get me a substitute for all of tomorrow or at least one for the last hour. I also asked if she could cancel observing my class today. She does this once a year. Of course it had to be the day I get sick. I took her up on her offer to watch my class the rest of the day. She had gotten a substitute to watch her class while she observed the other classes. So, here I am....being bad and writing when I should be lying on the couch sleeping. Don't worry, that's the next thing on my agenda.

Here's a little side note. I normally don't watch soap operas, but I turned on the TV while I was typing this, and I have already heard/seen two commercials for pregnancy tests. I guess that tells you who watches soaps!!! I think I'll be changing the channel soon. I don't want to watch something that will remind me I'm not pregnant.

There's one more day until my second insemination! Let's hope for a great count!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers