Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
My Second IUI
Friday, Oct. 24, 2003 @ 4:59 p.m.

Today I stayed home from work. I didn't feel that great, my head really hurt, so I was glad that I had gotten a substitute. My husband went to the clinic this morning and came home for lunch. It was nice to have a little time with him in the middle of the day. All morning and early afternoon I kept worrying that the clinic would call me and tell me that the count was too poor for an IUI. I got a couple phone calls. One of them I was sure was the doctor, but it just ended up being a magazine company wanting me to resubscribe.

I left home at 1:45 p.m. to drive to the clinic and got there in a little over an hour. I was worried that I would take a wrong turn on my way there, because I've only taken that route once, and I wasn't driving. Thankfully I made it there with time to spare.

I was brought to the back, and things went pretty much like last time. I was asked by two different people who my husband was and his birthdate which was written on the test tube. I found out that the count was 4.9 million per mL. That's better than last time! I was praying for that!

The insemination went well. The nurse inserted the catheter quickly and didn't cause any bleeding like last time. She even asked if I wanted a sponge inserted, because she didn't think I needed one since nothing leaked out. I decided to be on the safe side and have one anyway. I lay on my back with my hips elevated for ten minutes, paid the bill for myself and my husband, and was on my way home. I hardly can feel any cramping this time either, so I can really say that everything went well.

Now it's back to waiting again. I'm feeling really cheerful about it this time. It seems like everything turned out just right. That makes me want to think, oh yeah, it's got to work this time. Of course another part of me is thinking, no, the odds might be better, but they still aren't that good. Some clinics won't even do an IUI if the count is less than 5 million. Besides, research studies show there is only a 6% chance of it working this time. That's only a one in 17 chance. Why would you be the one in seventeen. That's when I have to think that it will only happen if God wants it to. I can't put my trust in science. What happens will happen because God allows it to happen.

What if I do get pregnant? Based on my ovulation date, my due date will be July 16, 2004. That's one week before my husband's 33rd birthday and our 5th anniversary. Wouldn't that be a wonderful birthday and anniversary present? Of course at this point, any month will be a great time to have a baby.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers