Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Second IUI Postponed
Thursday, Sept. 25, 2003 @ 4:03 p.m.

God really gave me a curve ball today!!

This morning I went in for my ultrasound to see how my follicles were developing. Here's the numbers:
Right side: 16.5 mm, 15.5 mm, 12.5 mm and 5 that are less than 9 mm.
Left side: 10.5 mm

Follicles need to be at least 15 mm to be mature, and they grow one or two mm a day. So the nurse said that I'll be ovulating two or three eggs. That's good, but the bad part is that they are all on my right side!

When I had the test to check my tubes, the doctor was sure the left side was open, but the right side appeared to be partially blocked. The only way to know for sure would be to have surgery. Since it's very unlikely that I'll even release an egg on the left side (even if I do, there will only be one), an IUI for this cycle has not been scheduled.

I was told that my husband and I should go back to "trying" (that's my word for "having relations") every-other-day until I ovulate. So, we're back to doing it on our own. It is more convenient, that's for sure, but I'm not sure what our chances are for conception. I'm not convinced that the right tube is really blocked, so it is possible. We shall see. It is funny that in the three ultrasounds I have had, that the largest follicles were always on my right side.

Next month better be the left side's turn. I think my right side must be the bossy side! I am a lefty (left-handed), so it's about time my lefty ovary gets to work!!

Being away from my class worked out pretty well. Only one student asked me where I was. I told her I went to the doctor. She asked if I was getting sick. I told her that I wasn't, that I had gone for a check-up and couldn't get an appointment for after school. That seemed to satisfy her. She was already walking away before I finished talking to her!

Now that the IUI is cancelled, I'm feeling a bit down. It's not too bad. I'm just worried about being bored tonight. I'd like to go shopping for baby presents for our friends with the preemie twins. But I don't want to go alone, and I think my husband wants to work outside on his landscaping project. Maybe I'll have to do a little work outside with him. If I don't do something I'll just end up having a pity party for myself. Wait! Maybe I'll go clothes shopping. I do need some new long-sleeved shirts. I think I might just do that, after I go outside and pick the ripe tomatoes from the garden. Another option is to go to the library and find a movie to watch. I'll see what I feel up to doing after dinner.

I'm wondering how when I'll ovulate. My guess is Saturday. It's really hard to tell though, because my cervical mucus has changed since taking the Clomid. It's too difficult to predict. Maybe I should get an ovulation predictor kit. Nah, I'm too cheap for that. We'll stick with the every-other-day thing and hope we get our timing right.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers