Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
She Made Her Choice
Friday, Apr. 20, 2007 @ 2:28 p.m.

Tuesday I got a call the the potential birthmother had made a choice. She chose the family with a church most similar to hers. It ended up being the family from a different office who also happens to be childless. It was a little exciting to know we were being considered, but I'm not too disappointed. Three months would have been a long time to wait for the baby to be born. Because of my faith, I can be assured that this was not the baby God meant to be in our family. The perfect baby will come at the perfect time.

A few weeks ago our church family was faced with the death of a baby. The only couple at church without children who were expecting a baby this summer, lost their son. He was very small, and something was wrong, so they delivered him early, at 7 months. Apparently there was a blood clot in the umbilical cord and he didn't develop properly. He did worse after birth. His kidneys didn't function, and tests showed he was brain dead. They took him off life support the afternoon of Good Friday, and he died the following morning. I am so sad for this couple. They've already faced three miscarriages, and we all thought that this baby would be born healthy.

I do have good news. Early this month my friend who got remarried last summer had a baby boy. She was obese during her first marriage of seven years and was unable to get pregnant. She lost 150 pounds and got pregnant during the first month of her new marriage. I'm so happy for her. I'm helping throw her a baby shower. It's the first one I've ever hosted. Thankfully I never had to deal with that while dealing with my infertily.

All my friends babies since last fall have been boys, so if I get a baby before September, I hope it's a boy. Otherwise my child will be the only girl in her class at church. Right now there are five baby boys. If the baby who died had lived there would have been six.

Now there is no one pregnant at church, except possibly one woman who appears to be pregnant but who hasn't made a pregnancy public. She had a miscarriage with her last pregnancy last summer, so she may be keeping it private for a while longer. Several of us at church have commented to ourselves that she looks pregnant. If she is pregnant she won't be able to keep it a secret much longer!

I hope some more people get pregnant soon. I don't want my baby to be in a class all by his/her self!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers