Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Back From Seattle
Thursday, Aug. 07, 2003 @ 10:43 a.m.

I'm finally back! Aren't you glad?? Well, maybe you aren't, but I am. I no longer have to record my temperature with pencil and paper each morning. I'm back in my own bed. I'm back on my computer.

People think of Seattle, Washington as a place where it rains all the time. While I was there it didn't rain the entire time! In fact the people who live there couldn't remember the last time it rained. It was also hot. Without air conditioning it got hot at night, even with the windows open. It wasn't exactly the right conditions for baby making with your husband. In fact most of the time we didn't even want to touch eachother. Else we would have been making sweat, not a baby!! So, needless to say, we didn't even talk about timing this cycle. That's okay. Our next cycle, starting in less than two weeks (I think I ovulated Monday or Tuesday), will be intense with timing, medicine, and doctors' appointments.

Although I wanted to forget about having a baby while on vacation, there were times when it could not be helped. First there was our neighbors' granddaughter crying in the night. That's what you hear when everyone has their windows open and your windows are 15 feet apart. I could have gotten dressed and walked over to their house faster than the mother got the baby out of bed!

Then there was my class reunion. Out of the 18 classmates there, 10 had children. What made me feel better was that out of the 8 that had no kids, 6 were married (like me). Out of the 6, my close friend and I were the only married women classmates without children. One interesting thing thing was that one couple has been married for 7 years and has no children.

I really shouldn't dwell on my peers' families. I shouldn't think of life as being a race. There is no prize for being the first one married or having the most kids. Not in the end at least. I should be running the race for the Lord. He should be my goal.

While I was packing to return home, I had a talk with my mom. She asked about how it was going with the doctor. I told her what that we plan to start the insemination with superovulation soon. She had talked to my aunt and found out that my cousin and her husband, who had their first child after ten years of marriage, had gone to doctors and were about to do something like we are and then found out they were pregnant. They now have two boys, a couple years apart. That's the first time I heard about infertility on my dad's side of the family. It helps me not feel so alone.

I also know that my mom must be telling people, my aunt at least. That's fine. My aunt has been like a grandmother to me. She has grandchildren that are my age. That's what happens when your dad gets married when he is 45 years old!

My husband and I are making plans to go on a short 3 day trip with just the two of us. I want to go to Wisconsin to locate my great-grandfather's grave. He came to America from the Netherlands in the late 1800's and died on Christmas in 1906. My father is named after him. I'd like to give my child that name as a middle name. Besides walking around graveyards, we will see some tourist sites too and may visit my mom's best friend. My husband has never met her, and I haven't seen her since she moved to Wisconsin many years ago. This trip will be our last chance to vacation before school starts up again in September.

My diary will probably be a bit empty the next couple of weeks. I promise to give you more action when I start my superovulation cycle. I'm interested in how it will make my fertility chart look. Time will tell.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers