Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
The baby is a ....
Friday, Aug. 12, 2005 @ 9:14 a.m.

GIRL!!

Our social worker called yesterday afternoon with more details about the baby.

She was 7 lb. 8 oz. at birth (July 23) and is now 8 lb. 12 oz.
She was 20.5 in. long at birth.
Her eyes look blue right now and she has light blonde fuzz on her head.
The caregiver says she's content and "the easiest baby in the world"
(and she's had 7 children of her own!)

We will meet with the birthmom and her mother on Monday afternoon at 3:15 at the adoption agency. Both of our social workers will be there. It will be mainly run by the birthmom and us using the questions we have written for eachother. The social workers will step in if necessary.

It's possible we could visit the baby that evening if the birthmother gives us permission! We will probably have a couple visits with the baby before we take her home so we know about feedings and other important stuff.

We don't know exactly when we will take her home, but an estimate is a week and a half. We have the option of leaving her in interim care until the birthmother's rights are terminated (4-6 weeks), but we will probably take a risk and bring her home so we can begin bonding with her. If she is taken away from us, we will just have to deal with it - however difficult that may be.

However since the birthmother has already had a couple days where she tried to care for the baby, we hope that she has come to terms with her decision and won't change her mind. I think we will feel more at ease once we meet her.

Yesterday I went to the store to get my photos of my brother's wedding and of our trip to Maine developed. I want to be able to share some recent pictures with the birthmother. I'm told that she is quiet (a lot like me!) and I figure it will be a good way to start conversation.

I also bought a vase because I want to bring some flowers from my garden to the birthmother when we meet her. I asked if it was okay to bring my camera and a bouquet of flowers to the meeting and our social worker thught it was a good idea.

I emailed or phoned all the people who filled out references for us. We also told our immediate family. Many people called me, including one of my best friends who is a Navy wife stationed in Japan! I never know who will be on the other end when I answer the phone now. It sure was fun yesterday!

Right now we are making a list of questions to ask the birthmother, looking at lists of baby names, and deciding what we need to shop for first.

There's a lot to do and so little time! I still can't believe that this is really happening!

Thanks for all your prayers and well wishes. I really appreciate it.

One last thing...our neighbors across the street had their baby two days ago. We assume it's a boy because of the blue baby buggy balloon strung to the mailbox. Yea! Another playmate for my baby, and this one is just across the street!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers