Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Nervous About the Meeting
Monday, Aug. 15, 2005 @ 7:50 a.m.

Saturday morning my husband got all our baby furniture put together. It really fills up that little room. It still looks empty though because there is nothing on the walls and on the furniture. Once I get new curtains, bedding, and a lamp it will look a lot better. My mother-in-law has offered to help shop for baby stuff, so maybe we can go shopping sometime soon.

Saturday night we had dinner with some very good friends. It was nice to be able to talk with them about the baby. A couple of our friends have boys only (one has 3, the other has 5), so they are glad we're getting a girl. They're always looking for future spouses for their sons, so they say there may be fights over who gets her!

I talked to my mom yesterday and told her she can send over my old baby clothes whenever she feels like it. She said she was wondering about that. I can tell she's excited to become a grandmother. She just shows it a lot differently than my mother-in-law. She's very eager to start sharing the news with people.

At church yesterday our pastor's wife talked to us about the baby. She was good about making sure no one was around to overhear things. It's good to know someone else will be praying for us today.

We haven't progressed much in our baby name search. I told hubby my list of favorites, but he only ahd one idea to share with me. He says that there are lots of good names, but that none of them are popping out at him. I'm trying to give him more time to think about things, but I'm getting impatient. I've spent my whole life looking at baby name books, so I'm tired of looking and ready to pick. I had hoped that if I gave Hubby my three favorite names, he would pick one and we could be done. Apparently he's pickier than I thought. There's nothing I can do now but wait. Oh well.

I did type up a list of questions to ask the birthmother. Hubby thought that they were nice. I think we've pretty much prepared ourself for the meeting. If she asks us what names we've picked out, I'll just have to tell her that it's a work in progress.

It's going to be a busy afternoon and evening for us. We'll have the meeting, and then we will have to make tons of phone calls to our friends. I may not be able to update until tomorrow. Please be patient, I'll write as soon as I can.

I hope we get to meet the baby today!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers