Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
New Cycle, Meeting the Babies, and Thoughts on Ending Treatment
Saturday, Dec. 06, 2003 @ 10:16 p.m.

I was quite surprised when I woke up yesterday and found out that my temp had dropped to 97.6. It told me that my period would be coming that day, a day earlier than expected. It did come, along with cramping, after lunch. That was too late to call the clinic to schedule my next ultrasound, so that will have to wait until Monday.

Last night we finally were able to go to our friends' house and meet their twin preemies. They are so cute!! My husband and I had a great time holding them. I even got to feed one of them. They are each ten pounds now. One is almost eleven. They are so different from each other. One is laid back and laughs a lot. The other is fussier and tries to pull his oxygen tubes away from his nose. Their parents are in the process of weening them off of the oxygen. Now they are off of it 5 hours a day. They only have to be on the breathing monitors at night.

Last night before we left to visit our friends, I told my husband that I had gotten my period. He wondered how many more times we would be trying the IUIs. I told him that I had prescriptions to do it two more times. He wondered what the next step would be. I told him that it would probably be something we wouldn't want to do - IVF. I said that we would probably not want to go ahead with that because of the high cost and the approximately 50% chance that it would be successful.

Before I was still holding out hope that I could convince my husband to try IVF once. Now I think I have finally come to the conclusion that IVF really isn't worth it for us. Say we do spend big bucks and get a baby or maybe two. We would still want another one or two. Would I want to go through all that again? Plus, what if we spend all that money and don't even get a child? Wouldn't it be better to spend our money for an adoption, where we have a much better chance of getting a child.

We talked then a little about adoption, and how even if we do adopt, we still might get pregnant and have a baby afterwards. We also talked about the adoption agency that we would probably want to deal with. It's a Christian agency in our city. We know several families who have adopted children through them.

Last night when we were talking to our friends with the preemies we started talking about infertility. I told my friend that we would probably be trying inseminations two more times, then that would be it. Then we would look into adoption. My friend told us that she and her husband had looked into adoption before she got pregnant this last time. It was strange to actually say it....two more times and that will be it. I still may get pregnant but not with the help of any doctors.

We still haven't talked about a time frame for adoption, if infertility treatment fails. I'd love to start right away after treatment is over, but I think we'll need to do a lot of research first. I'd love to say that this is going to be my last year of teaching, but I'm not sure how comfortable I feel with that. Maybe I'll have to go through one more year of teaching. I won't let myself teach for longer than that. By that time I'll be 30, ready enough to become an adoptive parent, I think. Only 18 months until I quit working. Considering that I've been trying to get pregnant for 39 months, 18 isn't so far off!

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers