Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Cycle Day 9 Ultrasound
Friday, Jul. 02, 2004 @ 4:08 p.m.

The ultrasound this time went much better than last time. The resident did it again. It sure does take her a long time to get find the follicles, and sometimes she had to press hard. She apologized, and I was polite with her and tried hard not to show I was getting a little impatient. Everything turned out looking okay. My uterine lining, which she appeared to be impressed with, was 12.1 mm. At my cycle day 2 ultrasound last week it was only 4 mm thick. Yes, I do have a nice embryo-friendly uterine lining. Too bad not embryos have ever tried it out (to my knowledge at least).

The follicles measured:
Right ovary - 13.5 mm, 12.5 mm, & a few �� 5 mm
Left ovary - 12 mm, 10 mm, & five �� 8.5 mm

The resident (who I watched sign her name with an RN) suggested that I schedule an ultrasound and blood test for Sunday (the 4th of July holiday). She didn't seem too sure about it, and when she left and came back it appeared that she wasn't able to get anyone to check it over. She said I'd get a call. She also gave me a collecting container and paper bag in case I had to have the IUI without another ultrasound. Normally I don't take the bag and container, but I've been thinking about taking my husband's sample to the office myself when he does the sperm anti-bodies test. That way he won't have to miss work. It's exactly an hour drive for us, and the RE's office likes the sperm to be collected no longer than an hour. With the IUI, I wouldn't want to let it sit that long, but for this test, I see no reason why it can't cut the deadline that closely. Oh, the resident asked about the sperm antibodies test, and I told her I hadn't scheduled it yet for my husband. I said we were thinking about the Tuesday after the insemination. She wrote on my chart that I had taken the test, but my husband needed one yet.

After I paid and scheduled the ultrasound, I went across the street to the lab for the blood test. I gave the technician my "good arm", which I now know is the left one, so the draw went very quickly. When I was waiting to be called to the back I noticed that I could feel my ovaries. It's that strange big and heavy feeling I had last month.

This afternoon I got a call from the doctor's office saying that there were some changes. I'll be taking two shots (instead of one) tonight and Saturday. I don't need to come in for the ultrasound on Sunday. Sunday night I'll take the hCG shot. Tuesday morning will be the IUI. They asked if I was okay with medications, and I said yes. Then I asked if I could schedule the IUI, and they transferred me to the front desk. Then I realized that I should have asked how I should mix the two doses. Is it possible to do only one injection by using one ampule of solution and adding it to two ampules of the medication? From what I've read in the literature that came with the Gonal F, it's possible, but I wouldn't want to do it unless I was sure it's okay. I'm thinking of calling my friend with the twins who has taken Gonal F before. I'm sure she took more than one dosage with her having PCOS. Anyway, I scheduled the IUI for Tuesday morning. It will be 11:20 for me, and 7:30 for my husband.

I'm noticing my ovaries a little bit since this morning, but not nearly as much as when I was at the lab. I must remember not to do any of that forbidden bouncing! Unless something unusual happens, I don't plan to write until Tuesday - after I lay on my back with my hips elevated for two hours like my friend suggested. Hey, it worked for her! I have no reason to laugh at her craziness. Besides, this might be my last IUI, my last chance. Thankfully my husband will be working and won't see me! Pssst, I really don't think he needs to know about this.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers