Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Are We What She Is Looking For?
Sunday, Jun. 05, 2005 @ 10:32 p.m.

It seems like I've been waiting for so long for the potential birthmother to look at our profile. Finally the week is here where she is going to consider us.

I have told only a few people about what's going on. The adoptive mother of my student was only remotely interested when I told her that a birthmother will looking at our profile. All she could talk about was how she had been thinking how maybe when I get a baby, she can do the interim care and bring the baby to school each day so I can see him/her.

Afterwards I couldn't figure out why she didn't ask me any questions or even comment about our profile being shown. I did a little thinking, and decided that her offers of caring for my baby are her way of showing excitement. A week earlier she talked to me about how if I got a baby she could care for him/her while I was teaching and finishing off the school year. I didn't want to tell her that once I have a baby there's no way I would want to keep working.

The opposite of her reaction was that was my pastor's wife. I told her about the potential birthmother and asked her to keep the matter in prayer. She was all smiles and nearly jumped up off the floor. I almost wanted to tell her to calm down!

I think a lot about this potential birthmother and wonder if our profile will be of interest to her. I've reread it a couple times in the last week, trying to imagine what she might be thinking as she reads it. Will she like a couple that likes to read, garden, and do crafts or home improvement projects? Or will she reject us for the couple with an athletic husband that plans to be his kids' coach? We match everything else she is looking for, but God didn't give my husband many athletic skills. I joked with a friend of mine that maybe we should change our profile to make my husband appear interested in coaching.

I understand that the potential birthmother may want a father for her baby that is like her dad or maybe like the dad she'd like to have. I just don't want her to brush us by just because of that one reason. My dad wasn't athletic, but he was a wonderful father.

Our goal from the beginning has been to develop the talents and interests that our children have. That idea is stated clearly in our profile, and I hope that potential birthmothers make a note of it. Of course we want to expose our kids to our interests, but if they show a talent in something else, such as sports, we will do what we can to assist and encourage our child.

I only hope that this potential birthmother realizes that talents have nothing to do with the ability to be a good parent, and that not every child will have the talents or interests that you desire him or her to have.

This pregnant woman seems like a wonderful person, and she has a right to choose whatever family she wants based on whatever specifications she desires. I'm sure she'll be able to find the perfect family for her baby, and I'm going to be praying for her during the next few days. She's a Christian woman, so I'm sure she's praying too.

"Lord, plese let her take the time to read my profile carefully."

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers