Journal
latest entry
old entries
first entry
profile
rings
leave a note
guestbook
diaryland
Fertility
abbreviations
fertility friend charts
TCOYF charts
Adoption

the beginning
agency
favorite stories & blogs

Adoption #3 Process
We will soon be starting our third domestic infant adoption!

_ ask for application
_ submit formal application
_ paperwork/self studies
_ medical exams
_ home visit
_ approval as a waiting family
_ design and submit profile
_ selection by agency for birthmother
_ placement of child
_ get Order Terminating Rights date
_ OTR hearing for birthparents
_ 21-day legal appeal period
_ sign petition for adoption
_ visits at 3 & 6 mo. after OTR
_ confirmation hearing

Blinkies








My Journey
Last Day of School
Wednesday, Jun. 08, 2005 @ 3:37 p.m.

Today was the last day of school. I'm so glad to be done. Maybe I'll get a baby this summer, and I won't have to go back next fall. That would be great!

Today I found out that the family I know who are adopting from Ethiopia are getting an 8 year old girl. The wife just returned from a two week trip there where she got to meet her future daughter and even take her shopping. Aparently she only knows four words of English. The family had thought about getting a couple kids, but they decided to get one now and possibly more in the future.

Monday afternoon I received a phone call from our case worker. When I realized who was calling I held my breath and hoped she was calling with good new. She started telling me that she hadn't heard anything from the other office yet about the birthmother she had sent our profile to last week. She said she'd call them if she hadn't heard from them in a week.

She was calling to tell us about another situation. This situation was through their contract with Child and Family Services. I knew that they contracted with them for foster care, but I didn't realize that they share profiles with them for infant adoption. What was interesting about the situation she told me about is that this baby is already born. She's four weeks old. The young teenage birthmother kept her pregnancy a secret. Due to certain circumstances, we decided not to have our profile shown in this situation.

If this had been a situation that worked well for us it would have really been a rush to get ourselves ready to have a baby in our lives. When our case worker was telling me about the situation I kept thinking how unprepared we are. I was telling myself, "This is too soon." As much as I want a baby, it will be much more convenient - if having a baby can be called convenient - if the baby arrives at the end of the summer. I guess that's why my hopes are really set on the baby that is due in October. We'd be able to get the nursery furnished, travel to Canada for my brother's wedding, and even take our last vacation together before a baby joins our family. I'm not getting my hopes up though. I know there are many lovely couples for her to choose from, so it is more likely that someone else will be chosen. I keep praying for this girl, and I pray for patience for myself.

|

then< >now

Recent Entries

Adoption Complete! Thinking About Another - Thursday, Nov. 05, 2009
6 Month Supervisory Visit Today - Wednesday, May. 27, 2009
New Information About Both Girls' Birth Families - Friday, May. 01, 2009
Visit with our Second Daughter's Birthmother - Thursday, Feb. 12, 2009
Things from the Birthmother, Preparing for the Meeting, and Cycle Returning to Normal - Sunday, Feb. 08, 2009


Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Fifth Birthday tickers

Lilypie - Personal pictureLilypie Second Birthday tickers